Skip to content

This and that

March 19, 2011
  • Long week–more on that when I wrap it up later.
  • But it’s over and we’re on to a week of spring break.
  • We may even see some spring weather. (Of course in Utah, just about anything qualifies as “spring” weather.)
  • Why is it, when we skip (badly needed) grocery shopping so E will be able to take a decent nap, he sleeps for 35 minutes and wakes up grumpy?
  • And how do you get a baby to drink from something  other than Mommy?  He refuses to take a bottle, a sippy cup, or a regular cup.
  • He will suck from a dropper.  I feel like I’m feeding a baby lamb here.
  • And yet when it comes to spoons and food, he’s in the “Me do it” phase.  He does not want to be fed.
  • But he’s walking more and more every day.  It’s so fun.
  • Except when people forget to put up gates and shut doors and he disappears way too quickly.
  • Why is it when we “spring ahead,” he starts waking up an hour earlier in the morning?  Or really, two hours earlier?
  • And why is Mommy the one most affected by the time change?  I seriously feel like I’ve been run over by a truck this week.
  • And yet I’m still keyed up tonight and can’t sleep.
  • DH and I went on a date tonight!  Or it was a date until my neighbor came over with an extra ticket to the same concert and wanted to know if A wanted to go too.
  • But we enjoyed it anyway.  All three of us.
  • What’s not to love?  Tchaikovsky’s Romeo and Juliet Fantasy and Bernstein’s Symphonic Dances from West Side Story.
  • Well, there was that world premiere of a violin/viola double concerto–I can’t quite say I loved that one, but I didn’t hate it either.  It was interesting.
  • Curriculum is ordered for next year, (or at least all the curriculum I have money for right now.)
  • Just waiting for UPS now!
  • Something that’s more exciting for next week than, say, all the house cleaning we need to do!
  • Because my house is an absolute disaster right now.
  • And it smells.
  • Because I was so–I don’t know–tired, brain dead, something.  Anyway, I charred the garlic I was browning for dinner prep not once, but twice tonight.
  • It’s been a long week…
  • Although all my meager complaints pale in comparison with the very real disasters so many are suffering through right now in the world.  So I’ll just stop here and say good night.
One Comment leave one →
  1. March 20, 2011 1:55 pm

    So….I’m ordering next year’s curriculum, too. I’m wondering what you’re doing for history. We’ve taken a few year off SOTW (for Ambleside Online) but am wanting to go back to WTM for our history and do it as a family. I’m hoping to get some ideas from you!

    Thanks!

    Sarah

Leave a Reply

