Skip to content

There’s a reason I play the cello…

March 26, 2011

and not the viola–

Violas sit in front of the trumpets.

I am now sitting behind the viola section.

Last night at dress rehearsal, we discovered that the cello section had to be rearranged to make room for a harp, a celeste, and a piano (the 7-foot grand, naturally) on our side of the stage.  My stand partner and I ended up between the violas and the brass section.  Several people offered to bring us earplugs, but seriously?  I have to be able to hear my own part as well and somehow I don’t think wearing earplugs will facilitate that.  I also have about a foot of bow space, so if I use too much, I’ll either hit my stand partner’s cello or I’ll stab the girl next to me in the ribs.  Such fun!

I’ll actually be sad to leave Shostakovich after this concert, I have loved going to rehearsal this month.  It’s such an amazing  piece.  But I will also be glad when this concert is over.  I need to relax a little.  I’ve been so full of nervous energy for the past several days.  I thought it would be good not to have school this week, but now I’m not so sure.  It would have given me something to keep my mind occupied.  I haven’t been able to concentrate on much else.

And there’s much I still need to do this weekend.  DH is getting yet another work schedule on Monday (along with a brand new 2-year assignment) so it looks like we’ll be back to a normal week with a Monday-Friday schedule.  Just when I was getting used to our unconventional life!  I was really liking Mondays off.  But no more, we’re back at it in two more days…and  I’m not prepared.

But I have to get this concert out of the way first.  While I was practicing this afternoon, C came up and hugged me and said, “Good luck on your concert tonight, Mom.  I hope you play your best.”  It was so sweet and I’m really glad that the boys get to see me work hard on something and have it pay off in a good performance.  That’s an important lesson to learn and I’m grateful that they can learn it from my example and not just my words.  Piano doesn’t come as easily to C as it does to A, but he’s slowly learning that practice pays off and he is improving.  He’s excited to come hear me play tonight.

One good thing about sitting by the trumpets is realizing that they double us on the one measure and a half that I really can’t play.  So I don’t think anyone will notice if I don’t get all those notes!  Other than that, I just hope my eardrums recover in a day or so.

Happy weekend!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anne permalink
    March 26, 2011 5:39 pm

    Bella has complained about that SO MUCH! So, yeah, the downfall to being a violist! ;o/

Leave a Reply

