Skip to content

Memory Work Monday–April 11

April 12, 2011

Even though it’s no longer Monday (it’s almost no longer Tuesday either!) I’m posting about our memory work this week–because if I write it down somewhere, we’re much more likely to do it.  It would be so nice if our memory work was nice and neat and new each week, but life doesn’t work out that way.  Here’s what we’re working on this week.

Gospel: We are on our third new scripture in as many weeks, but that’s only because I keep picking the shortest ones on the list.  This week is Doctrine and Covenants 82:10 “I, the Lord, am bound when ye do what I say; but when ye do not what I say, ye have no promise.” We’re also working on the Articles of Faith.  A and C know some of them from Primary, but D only knows the first one, so that’s where we’re starting.  A needs to know all thirteen to get his Faith in God award.

Poetry: We’re still working on “The Voice of Spring.”  Hopefully we’ll have it learned before summer.  The first stanza is good, the second is almost there, and the third one is not at all memorized.  We’ve been reviewing “In Flanders Fields” and have it down pat, although I gave up reviewing any of our other poetry.  It was like we had never learned them before.

Latin: C just completed the lessons on the constellations and has been reviewing the past 5 lessons’ vocabulary and today learned the “to be” verb chant: sum, es, est, sumus, estis, sunt.  A is reviewing all previous chants: to be verbs, verb endings for present and future tense, 1st and 2nd conjugations, 1st declension case endings, 2nd declension masculine and neuter case endings, and probably a few others I’ve forgotten.  He’s much better at them than I am.

Math: C and D are both working on multiplication in Singapore this week, so we’re adding in some skip counting.  I was never good at doing this with A and I see now that it would have greatly helped once he was trying to learn all the multiplication tables.  Now if I could just find a skip counting song…

Music: Speaking of songs, we also started memorizing “He is Risen” for Easter.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 13, 2011 8:16 pm

    I think that there’s some recommendations for skip counting songs in TWTM, but I can’t remember. I’ve been thinking similar thoughts though: ought to find something. Skip counting is turning out to be a bit of a pain to teach. So far it’s just not “clicking.”

Leave a Reply

