Skip to content

Clarification

May 11, 2011

Just in case anyone was worried that this child of mine can pull a full-of-food crockpot down from the counter–

He can’t!  Being only 2 1/2 feet tall has its advantages.

But the old crockpot lived on the bottom shelf of my baker’s rack and E was totally fascinated with it.  Multiple times a day he’d pull it down, take the lid off, put it back on, take it off again.  Lather, rinse, repeat.  He also used it to stash stuff.  If I couldn’t find something like, say, my camera, it was a good bet he’d stashed it in the crockpot.  But then one day I happened to look at the cord which he always pulled on, and figured if I plugged it in again, I may just get electrocuted.   Hence, the retractable cord feature was a major selling point on the new one.

Speaking of the new crockpot, it’s huge!  I’ve cooked a few of our regular recipes in it and the ingredients barely cover the bottom.  (“Helloooo, down there!”)  But DH reminded me that we are the parents of four boys and we will soon be very thankful for its size.

And speaking of E, his new place to stash stuff is the old paper shredder can in the entryway.  I just discovered it along with a few items I’ve been missing.

He also discovered pencil erasers this week and bites them off when he finds them, so our new goal is putting pencils back in the pencil can instead of leaving them lying around everywhere.  That the three older boys are very bad about this has been glaringly obvious this week.  It would be easy if we just did all of our schoolwork at the table, but if you could see my table right now, you’d know why that’s easier said than done.  Decluttering over summer break, anyone?

E has also figured out how to undo the latches on my cello case.  I found that out when taking my cello out to the car on Friday.  Luckily, again, he is short enough that he can’t undo the top three or else I’d have lost my instrument right then and there.

There’s never a dull moment…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

