Skip to content

Simple Pleasures: Victor Borge

May 11, 2011

On Sunday afternoon A let me play some piano duets with him.  He found an old duet book of mine and started to sightread.  For some odd reason I thought it would be fun to join in.  You’d think being a cellist, I could handle the secundo part, but for some reason when I have to read two lines in bass clef, my brain starts having spasms.  It’s much better than sightreading the primo part with both lines in treble clef, however.  Then I really sound like an idiot.  A passed me up on the piano some time ago.

I am really good at following though, no matter how badly I’m butchering my own part.  A was very patient with me (probably only because it was Mother’s Day) although I think I held my own fairly well.  At one point however, he had to lean over and try to play my part correctly.  So I leaned behind him and started playing the top lines, which reminded me of this hilarious version of Liszt’s Hungarian Rhapsody that Victor Borge plays.  We had to stop playing and watch.

Which lead to more videos of Victor Borge.  We had such a great time.

I love this one too.

I love the things you can find on YouTube.  If I really need a laugh, Victor Borge is the way to go.  He was brilliant.

For more simple pleasures, check out Chocolate on My Cranium on Thursdays.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2011 7:26 am

    There are actually TWO Ren Faires in Utah.

    The one going on right now is near Ogden–www.utahrenfest.com–it’s more a Medieval and Fantasy themed faire. It would have been better if we hadn’t gone the first day because the main performers hadn’t shown up yet and without the performers (jousting, horse vaulters) the place is kind of a money-trap. They still have a few more days of discounted entry fees.

    The other one is down in Cedar City–www.umrf.net–and it’s been going on for a long time. It takes place in July. I’m trying to decide if I want to travel all that way this summer to check it out. 🙂

  2. May 12, 2011 7:37 am

    So fun, thank you for sharing! Loved it.

    I will have to show my son (the piano player in our house) that when he gets up this morning. 🙂

    And I read the comment above…my dh friend is a jouster in that renfair. He is having his company followed right now and there will be a reality TV series about him coming soon. 🙂 Such a very small world we live in.

  3. May 12, 2011 12:47 pm

    How funny! I am not very musically inclined so you lost me on the treble clef stuff. 🙂 But it sounds like you had fun!

Leave a Reply

