Skip to content

Preparation pays off

May 29, 2011

We have a small Primary, and because the boys are good singers, we try to work on their Primary songs at home so they’ll be able to help out the other children.  We missed Primary last Sunday though, so we’ve been working extra hard ourselves on May’s song, “Praise to the Man.”  Boy, could you tell!  C and D were belting it out at the top of their lungs today.  They often do that around the house (the song is rather catchy) but they surprised even me with their gusto.  A was, as always, more reserved, but he knew it just as well.

It’s always fun to find new arrangements of songs we know.  Here’s a great fantasy arrangement of “Praise to the Man” that we’ve been enjoying this week:

Now I need to make sure A can play it (the original, not the fantasy) on the piano.  He has been asked to play the piano for the Primary in the Spanish branch of our stake starting next Sunday. He plays prelude for our own Primary while everyone is getting in their seats, but chooses whatever songs he feels like.  I guess we’ll be practicing all of the current Primary songs this week, plus songs for his brother’s baptism on Saturday.  I am sure this is only the beginning of musical service in the Church for him.  He really loves to play.  Some days I wonder how I got so lucky–he never complains about practicing.  In fact, most days I have to ask him to please quit playing so I can get some peace and quiet!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2011 11:45 pm

    I’ll have to show that clip to Monkey. Hopefully we can do as good of a job here as it sounds like you are doing there with the preparation! My experience would seem to bear out your thoughts on A’s likelihood of continuing to serve musically: I started playing piano in our branch when I was around 13-14, and have been doing music in some capacity ever since: 20ish years now.

  2. May 30, 2011 5:20 pm

    We enjoyed the clip of Praise to the Man. We all like to hear the bag pipes!

    My kids and I have been singing this song for a few months now. We learned the books of the New Testament song which is also to this tune at the beginning of the year. Knowing that they were going to learn in Primary this year I decided we should just learn the words to Praise to the Man as well. We sometimes get the words mixed up. My boys especially belt it out each week in Primary. They LOVE this song!

    • cellista permalink*
      May 30, 2011 11:55 pm

      We always love bagpipes too!

Leave a Reply

