Skip to content

10:15 on a Monday morning

June 13, 2011

And we’re just finishing breakfast…

Sounds like a marvelously productive day, doesn’t it?  At least A is at the piano practicing Clementi now.  C and D have disappeared and E is whining at my leg…

Oh, he just wanted a graham cracker.  He’s good to go now.  And I’m sitting here putting off my to-do list.

Which list is the very same list I have every summer–clean the house.  The whole house.  As in, every nook and cranny, corner, and cupboard needs to be cleaned.  I haven’t done it in the past two summers though, so my house looks awful.  Truly awful.  While I’m nowhere close to being a candidate for the hoarders reality shows, we do have some packrat tendencies here and I’m overwhelmed with just how much stuff we have.

I like how Flylady defines STUFF: Something That Undermines Family Fun.  As a homeschooling family, we spend a whole lot of time together the entire year so our summers tend to more unscheduled.  The boys have to do scriptures, piano, and handwriting every day.  We’ll do math a few times a week and D needs to continue his reading lessons, but beyond that they’re on their own this year.  I would actually love to plan more fun things.  We’ve done some extended unit studies a couple of summers on things like trains and airplanes, but I’m to the point where I CAN’T STAND IT another minute! So yes, our stuff really is undermining our family fun.  I have a long list of things I’d rather be doing than cleaning right now and I’m purposely saving a few of them as a reward if I can just get myself in gear.

But…I just don’t know where to start.  I’m so overwhelmed.  Where do you start when literally everything needs to be cleaned?

OK, I do know where to start.  My kitchen ceiling fan has so much dirt and grime attached that it’s positively furry.  And I really need to be able to turn it on and not worry about all of that gunk being flung around the kitchen.  But after that, then where do I go?  See, this is my problem.  I’m so overwhelmed by the enormity of the task that I’m frozen into inactivity.  Does anyone else have that problem?

Part of me wants to empty out the house into the front yard and only bring back in what we really need and love.  That could be eye-opening.  Another part of me just wants to torch the house and start over!  Neither of those is really an option though.

Well, now that A has just finished piano, I’d better get off the computer and start tackling that furry fan.  We’ll see how the day progresses from there.

Wish me luck!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2011 12:08 pm

    Okay, I feel your pain. My ceiling fan in the kitchen is fuzzy too. I keep noticing that but am afraid that if I clean it I might also have to clean the oven which I am also ignoring. When I Spring clean I designate one room as the catch-all room. I then pick a room to start cleaning and give it a thorough go through then move onto another room. Anything that doesn’t belong or I don’t like or don’t know what to do with goes into the catch-all room as I clean. (Note: this can get very inconvenient if its the dining area of the kitchen or your own bedroom) I clean the catch-all room last which is usually piled high with who-knows-what that has accumulated in the house: papers, stray crayons, holey clothes, single shoes, outdated magazines, a lost library book, unidentified broken plastic pieces, stray screws, and just STUFF that is there. I usually find places for a few stray items then fill a few trash bags and thrift store bags to be disposed of and the whole house feels pounds lighter.

  2. June 13, 2011 2:15 pm

    Good Luck! I hope you got something done that made you feel you have a good start. My girls just cleaned their room so we could have overnight guest, and we took two big black trash bags of trash out! Just wanted to let you know that you are not alone!

Leave a Reply

