Skip to content

The Simple Woman’s Daybook

June 20, 2011

FOR TODAY: Monday, June 20, 2011
Outside my window… Roses are in bloom and the sun is shining after yesterday’s rain.

I am thinking…We’re all thinking about how sad it is that our favorite vintage plane, the B-17 Liberty Belle, was lost last week after an in-flight engine fire and an emergency landing in a farmer’s field in Illinois.  Due to rain-soaked fields, the fire fighters couldn’t get to the plane before it burned completely.  Now only 13 B-17s are left in flying condition.

I am thankful for…The good men and faithful priesthood holders in my life and for the righteous example they are for my boys.

From the learning rooms…We were terrible last week!  We either do school, or we don’t.  I have a really hard time just doing a few things daily.  About the only consistent thing we managed last week was piano practice.  This week’s goal will be daily scripture study plus piano.  And maybe a little math.

From the kitchen…Snickerdoodles–D convinced me to make cookies at least once a week this summer.

I am wearing…Jeans and the same yellow shirt I wore on Saturday which I threw on this morning after we sat down to breakfast, discovered we were out of milk, and had to run to the grocery store.  Now I figure, why get showered and dressed if I’ll just be covered in dust by the end of the day!

I am reading…The Cello Suites (myself), The Chronicles of Narnia (audio with the boys), and hoping to start David McCullough’s new book The Greater Journey soon.

I am hearing…Children at work!  They’re helping sort magazines and books in the living room.

Around the house…Extreme chaos:  We’re redoing every bookshelf in sight this week.  I’m surrounded by clutter and trying to be ruthless about what we keep and what we get rid of.

I am creating…Order out of chaos?  Maybe?

One of my favorite things…A clean house!

A few plans for the rest of the week:  Cleaning…everything.  No piano or cello lessons this week, but cub scout camp for C, book club for me, Primary activity, homeschool park day, and hopefully time to blog about something more exciting than housecleaning!

Here is picture for thought I am sharing…

Liberty Belle, April 2010


For more Daybook posts visit The Simple Woman’s Daybook blog.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2011 3:29 pm

    I am jealous that your house is getting clean. I never seem to get around to deep cleaning. Presentable is usually my goal. I hope it continues to go well.

    It is sad about the Liberty Belle. I saw the pictures on the T.V. while at the gym that morning and before they even knew what kind of plane it was, I could tell from the pictures it was a WWII plane because of the markings.

    Good Luck on the rest of your cleaning.

  2. Grandma permalink
    June 21, 2011 11:34 am

    Do you know what kind of a treasure this blog post will be in the future? You will know exactly what June 20, 2011 was like. Good luck with cleaning. Let the boys know what a great habit they are building. Lots of love. Grandma

  3. June 23, 2011 11:04 pm

    what a beautiful profile pic and the one of your children!
    ah…a woman after my own heart…yep…i’m a clean
    ‘freak’! i don’t know how you manage with the children..i commend you!

    so sad about the plane

    and wow…what a busy household…fabulous journaling chickie!

    (visiting from ‘simple woman’s daybook’)

Leave a Reply

