Skip to content

Try before you buy

June 28, 2011
tags: ,

Every time I think I have everything I’ll need for next year, I make a new discovery!  And so my wishlist grows.

I’m most excited about Writing with Skill, the follow up to Writing with Ease which we use and love.  The lovely people at Peace Hill Press have posted the first 7 weeks or so as a sample.  I love that!  It’s hard to get a feel for a new curriculum when the online sample consists of random pages from say, chapters 6, 11, and 14.  This way there is enough material to actually use and see if you like it.  And I do like it!  I like it a lot.  Susan Wise Bauer just has a knack for breaking the writing process down for those of us who are not natural writers.

A is just finishing up Writing with Ease 3, but I don’t think we’ll do WWE 4.  I think we’re going to start Writing with Skill this fall.  He does very well with narration and dictation and he’s ready to move forward.  I may even use it with him!  Maybe one of these days I’ll get to the point where writing isn’t so tedious.

The other fun new thing I found is Life of Fred: The Elementary Series!  We’ve loved Life of Fred fractions as a supplement this year and were excited to see four new books for beginning math students: Apples, Butterflies, Cats, and Dogs.  The samples look too easy for both C and D, but I just love the author’s approach to math and its real-life context, not to mention his sense of humor.  There’s nothing like giggling through a math lesson.  Seeing how E is growing like a weed, I may have to splurge and get these before too long.

Edited to add:  Here’s a link to sample pages from every LOF book.

So there you go, I’m excited about writing and math books today.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2011 4:05 pm

    So, are you seeing a page of actual content on the LoF Elementary stuff, or just excited because, as returning customers, you know his stuff & want more? I keep hearing SUCH good things about LoF, and I confess to being curious, even though I love our program.

    • cellista permalink*
      June 28, 2011 5:21 pm

      We know his stuff, but here’s the link to the page with samples from each. http://www.stanleyschmidt.com/FredGauss/31samplepages.html

      I love our program too (Singapore) but this is such a fun and different approach to math. I’ve heard that the higher levels can stand alone, but I don’t know if we’ll use them as such, or continue with them as supplements.

Leave a Reply

