Skip to content

UPS came today and in the words of the 8-year-old…

July 13, 2011

“Third grade is going to be awesome!”


Thanks to our new microscope!

The three older boys were playing a board game when the box arrived.  I told them they should finish the game first or they’d get distracted by what was in the box, but they just couldn’t wait to open it.  And they were distracted, although D convinced them to finish playing while I figured things out in the kitchen.  We had a long and serious chat about taking care of what is probably the single most expensive item we’ve ever bought for homeschooling and then took turns looking at some slides.  We bought a set of 100 prepared slides too with some quite interesting specimens such as bee wings, a dog spleen, a frog lung (that was cool!), rabbit blood, mosquito mouth parts…you know, things we’re just not apt to prepare ourselves, although I need to get some empty slides if we find we do need to make some of our own for biology this fall.

Yes, we’re doing biology this fall.  We never did finish the chemistry curriculum that we started almost two years ago and so our four-year science cycle is already messed up. I’d like to not skip physics altogether, but I just couldn’t get excited about it.  I thought about trying to speed through it double quick until Christmas before moving on to biology, but seeing how science is the subject least likely to get done around here, I knew that option was doomed from the beginning.  So physics is out for now.  I don’t know that the boys really care one way or the other (as long as we do experiments0, so to increase our chance of success, I figure we should go with what the teacher is excited about.  And right now that is biology!

When A was in first grade, we traced our bodies and added different body parts and systems to them every week and it was one of our favorite activities.  I’m looking forward doing it again with D.  From the archives:

pb080052.jpgNow with a microscope, everyone’s excited about biology.  Let’s just hope we can keep that momentum going.

It sure killed our momentum for housecleaning today though.  I have a hard time working when there’s something new and exciting in the house to play with.  E took a 3-hour nap today too (which might explain why he just finally crashed at 11 p.m.)  I get so much more accomplished when he’s sleeping!  But I hope that the other three will remember me as the mom who stopped working to get excited over a microscope with them…

…or the mom who let herself be distracted from housecleaning to help her 10-year-old do logic problems yesterday morning…

…or the mom who let them stay up to play board games together before bed on Saturday night because they were so incredibly fast at doing their kitchen jobs and taking baths…

…or the mom who listens to Teaching Company lectures while she irons Sunday clothes…

I’m pretty certain that they won’t remember me as the mom who was always cleaning and never had time to play.  In fact, I’ve been a little too much of the opposite lately which is why I’m working on cleaning so much this summer.  I am terribly tired of inhaling dust, but we are in desperate need of some new habits around here and I have to be the one to set the example.  I can’t say that I see the end in sight just yet, but we’re getting there.

So…How will your children remember you?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2011 12:45 am

    How exciting! And don’t worry, your doing a great job!

  2. July 13, 2011 8:37 am

    I loved back to school as a child…but i REALLY love back to school as a homeschooling mom! Love to hear the big truck stop in front of our house.

    And ditto…don’t worry…you’re doing an amazing job. 🙂

  3. July 13, 2011 8:57 am

    I would love to get a microscope for our house but just haven’t taken the plunge to get a good one. I am sure my kids would love it.

    I often worry my kids will remember me as the Mom who nagged them day and night to do their work or clean their rooms. I hope they remember they countless hours I spend reading to them and playing games with them. I guess we will see what sticks in their memories. A little of both I hope!

  4. July 13, 2011 8:59 am

    Microscopes are so fun for the entire family! You are doing a great job. 🙂

  5. July 14, 2011 3:59 pm

    I so love the trace the body and add systems idea. We are doing unit studies for science this year and the human body is part of that. I am so stealing your idea! Thanks. I love the microscope. I think I want one too.

Leave a Reply

