Skip to content

Random

July 17, 2011
  • The second package came.  It was not nearly as exciting as the microscope.
  • What I really wish had come was the  part for my KitchenAid.
  • Making bread by hand is such a pain, but nobody likes store-bought bread.  They’re so spoiled.  We can’t wait to get the mixer fixed.
  • Four birds have flown smack into my living room windows recently.  I have no idea why, but I’m pretty sure it’s not because the windows are that clean.
  • But speaking of clean, look at the piano:
  • DH was impressed that I rolled the (1917 upright grand that weighs a ton) piano out by myself.
  • Old houses that slant have their advantages.  Rolling it out was easy.  Getting it back in place was another story.  But I’m happy to say the mouse nest behind it is history.
  • The computer desk also has not been this clean in years.
  • Now the trick is keeping it like that.  We hardly even use that computer anymore now that I have a laptop.  It’s the printer that is the problem though.  I am forever printing things out and a pile seems to collect overnight.
  • And cords!  Cords multiply and replenish as well.  This week I’ve been working on the music room and I have a box full of random cords. Where do they come from and what do they go to?  Hopefully DH knows because I don’t have a clue.
  • More on E in a post to come, but this week alone he found red glitter and dumped it all over, tried to feed the fish five peanuts and an almond, dumped out (completely) a large planter basket in the kitchen, and made a watermelon fall off the table and smash on the kitchen floor.
  • He’s so busy!  And exhausting to keep up with.
  • On the plus side, my floor gets mopped fairly frequently.
  • And is it just me or has time suddenly sped up?  Summer was rolling lazily along.  We’ve hardly had a thing going on.  Monday I realized summer was halfway over for us and still, there’s plenty of time to get everything accomplished I had planned on.  Five days later and I’m panicking because my calendar says we’re starting school in just over 3 weeks and I have a total of seven, yes count them seven, days at home with nothing else scheduled where I can try to finish up this little housecleaning project (serious understatement) I’ve been working on.  The next three weeks will fly by in a whirlwind of out-of-town breaks (two), boys’ book clubs, swimming lessons, piano lessons, hiking club, park days, a wedding, a parade, and probably a few other things I’m too frazzled to remember now!
  • The house is coming along and things are looking so much better, but at the same time I have a veritable mountain of paper clutter here to deal with.  While I could just chuck it all out (DH’s suggestion), there’s that little voice in the back of my mind that tells me there are important things in there somewhere and I know I’ll end up having to go through each and every piece of paper there because that’s just the way I am.  I’m so not looking forward to it.
  • And while I try to finish that up, I’m also trying to figure out school plans for next year.  Today I flitted back and forth between decluttering more of the music room and printing out biology pages for A’s notebook.  It probably wasn’t the best use of my time, but I couldn’t concentrate on any one thing today.
  • I have three days scheduled with DH as Mom’s Days Off where I can work on school plans in total peace and quiet with no children around.  Hopefully I’ll be able to do it and not worry about the mountain of housework not being done.
  • I’m excited to start a new routine though.  The boys are starting to bicker just a bit.  Long summer breaks just don’t work all that well, but I think we can survive the next three weeks.
  • I love our new thesaurus though–look at it!  It’s even fatter than the Illustrated History of the World.  I love big books.

  •  Completely random here: This is D after Daddy said he had to finish helping with the yardwork even though it started raining:
    It made me smile!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

