Skip to content

This may be impossible

August 3, 2011

I’ve got our entire year scheduled out (weekly topics anyway, I don’t do daily this far out) and I have weekly checklists finished for the boys. I told myself I couldn’t do anything fun until after I sat down and got those two big things finished.  I finally wrapped it up this afternoon.

The yearly plan looks good.  I’ve got vacations and other breaks pencilled in.  I marked my symphony concerts so I can take spring break the week we’re playing Beethoven when I’m sure to be stressed out.  I’ve got holidays and birthdays marked down.  We generally take the day off for birthdays but wait…four of us have our birthdays on weekends this year!  Whose idea was that?

I ran across my calendar from A’s first grade year last week (yes, I save everything and sometimes it’s a good thing.)  I used it as a guide for scheduling Story of the World history which is always our longest curriculum and so gets scheduled first.    You’d think I could just schedule the chapters in order: 1-42.  But where’s the fun in that?  Instead of strict chronological order, I put things in geographical order for the most part, studying civilizations as a whole rather than jumping around.  The funny thing is, I decided to do the same thing this year, but the chapters came out in a different order.  It fits our calendar perfectly, but somehow I came up with two extra weeks at the end of the year with nothing scheduled, probably because we’re skipping a few chapters to rely on the Bible instead.  Based on previous experience, we’re sure to get behind somewhere along the way and will need those extra weeks.

I can’t seem to follow the suggested science order either.  We don’t want to study plants, then animals, then people.  We want to do people first, so anatomy it is until Christmas.

We’re opting for an unconventional week as well.  We changed schedules so many times last year trying to match up with DH’s work schedule so we wouldn’t be working while he was home wanting to play.  He’s settled into a predictable Monday through Thursday routine though with his other job on Saturday afternoons.  So we’ll be working the same days and taking Fridays and Sundays off.  It’s weird to do school on Saturday, but we’ve done it before and that’s what the boys voted for.  On the plus side, that might give us two days off for birthdays!

Anyway….Then I worked on their weekly checklists.

Oh my….

I knew 5th grade would challenge us (in a good way of course!)  But my word, trying to put it down on paper?  A has twelve subjects on Monday, thirteen on Tuesday plus scouts.  Now granted, I’m including personal scripture study, piano practice, and reading (which they generally do when they go to bed) in that total.  I’m hoping to get everyone up earlier so we can get scriptures and piano out of the way first thing.  But still that leaves nine things to accomplish in a day.   Some are short, but some aren’t!  Gone are the days of being done by lunchtime!  I knew that was coming though with three children in official school.  C and D’s weekly lists look better, but still, this will be an exercise in juggling.  E thankfully naps after lunch, so we’ll take full advantage of those toddler-free hours.  I know those won’t last forever either.

I didn’t even attempt a timed schedule.  I can never get one that works and looking at the clock and feeling like we’re constantly behind is depressing.  And at this point, I have no idea how long anything is going to take.  I guess we’ll find out on Monday!  We won’t start with a full schedule though.  We usually take about four weeks to work our way into a new routine.  And somehow it will all work out.  It always does.  The boys are great at looking at their lists and getting to work.  We’ve been consistent with checklists since January and I think 2011 has been our best year yet.  Let’s hope that continues!

Tomorrow’s must-do project:  the school/dining room table.  Currently, it looks like this (plus my laptop and planning pages from today and minus the packing tape which I used up taping together timelines tonight):

The rest of the room is really clean at the moment for a change, but all miscellaneous junk from decluttering seems to have ended up here.  The challenge will be to deal with each and every item there instead of just moving it elsewhere, because you know I’d never do that!

Wish me luck.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    August 4, 2011 2:01 pm

    Good for you! Sounds like a great year ahead for you all.

  2. August 5, 2011 8:27 am

    Wow… that is a lot of work! I can’t believe you have everything planned out. I have never been that organized. Plus I know it would frustrate me when the schedule got off. I would always feel behind. Funny how you never feel ahead, it is always behind. Anyway… good luck on Monday.

  3. Nicole Keller permalink
    August 6, 2011 9:36 pm

    When you get to 7th Grade and have to do CTE classes, let me know. I got volunteered to teach that class to our 7th grade this year. After this year I’ll have a full curriculum that meets state standards all worked up for an individual student in a home environment. 🙂

  4. August 7, 2011 6:25 pm

    Good luck! I have the same problem when I de-clutter… all my “stuff” just seems to move from place to place… :-p

Leave a Reply

