Skip to content

Not Back-to-school Blog Hop: Schoolroom

August 7, 2011

It’s schoolroom week over at Heart of the Matter.  Go look. Be inspired. Drool a little…all those beautiful spaces…

Of which mine is not one.  Maybe one day I’ll have a dedicated schoolroom.  Then again, maybe not.  We seem to end up all over the house anyway and thanks to my decluttering efforts this summer, I do at least have most of our books and homeschool stuff in one room now.  That has been wonderful as I’ve been trying to plan lately.

So, here is the school/library/music/dining room which is where we do most of our bookwork. It works for us.  And this is probably the cleanest you will ever find it!  A keeps saying he wants to eat dinner out here more often though, so I told him the challenge for the year is to clean up the table every day.  We’ll see what happens.

Here’s the view from one corner looking towards the piano/cello corner.  The boys have their new notebooks, crayons, colored pencils, and weekly schedules ready to go.  The caddy in the middle of the table holds pencils, pens, scissors, pencil sharpeners, erasers, and glue sticks.

Against the back wall is the bookcase that holds our current schoolwork.  Each of the boys has a “bucket” (as they call them) with their individual books and crayon boxes.  The shelves below are an odd size and too small to stand up any regular books and binders so next to some of my shorter books, we stack the text and teacher books instead.  The middle shelf has a history and geography pile, the language arts pile, and the German/Latin pile.  The bottom shelf holds the boys’ scripture journal and memory work binders.  I try to keep things color-coordinated.  A likes blue, C likes green, and D likes red.

Here we’re looking towards the other corner with the computer desk and printer.  Sadly I think the desktop is on its last legs, so we’ll probably be sharing my laptop this year for Usborne internet links and such.

A is hiding his new math book on his lap.  He really wished he could have gotten started on it today!

There’s actually a chess table in front of the window.  Maybe one day we’ll learn to play.  Normally it’s the home for our world globe (which I need to replace since the busybody toddler managed to break the stand off it.)

Next to my laptop on the table is my teacher notebook.  I’m utilizing several ebooks this year plus I have schedules and instructions for every different subject.  Now everything I need is all together, instead of in separate notebooks like last year.  I’m already loving it as I flip from our calendar to our literature guides to our English schedule and back to science.  This might be my most organized year yet!

One more corner–the bookcase on the right holds all of my schoolbooks that are not in use as well as church history books and some movies.  The bookcase on the left is DH’s….

In front of the books is our chalkboard/whiteboard easel.  One day I would really love a big whiteboard on the wall.  For now, we make do with this.  D, especially, likes to spell words on it and do math problems there.

We also use our entertainment center in the living room as a bulletin board of sorts to hang our memory verses, poetry, and any artwork we’re studying.  We have a copy of My Gospel Standards on display.

We tend to start the morning out in the living room for scriptures and memory work before moving into the adjacent music room to the table for written work.

Also in the living room is our reference shelf that I created this year on an end table.  Already the boys have been pulling encyclopedias down to peruse.  (Unfortunately the toddler has already been using this table to climb up closer to the fish.  We’re working on that.)

We also keep book baskets stocked in the living room, one for literature and picture books and one for history.  Guess what we’re studying this month?

So that’s a look at the school space. Right now I’m enjoying the peaceful cleanliness of it all as I know it won’t last because tomorrow is our first day!


7 Comments leave one →
  1. MissMoe permalink
    August 7, 2011 11:58 pm

    Enjoyed reading about how you utilize your whole home for school. We do the same.

  2. Tamaran permalink
    August 8, 2011 12:57 pm

    Looks good & sounds exciting. I’m glad you took a picture of your reference shelf. I want to add some of those to our library.

  3. August 8, 2011 1:08 pm

    Thanks for sharing! We are expecting boy #3 in two months so it was fun to see your pictures.

  4. Francesca Rose permalink
    August 8, 2011 10:28 pm

    You are soooo inspiring and organized! I hope you have a great year! I wish you would move down by me and be my neighbor! I emailed you, but I might have old email addresses….What are you doing August 17, from 7-8 p.m.? Wanna play cello with me and get paid? Let me know. 🙂

  5. August 12, 2011 1:14 pm

    So organized & fun- thanks for sharing!

  6. August 13, 2011 6:51 pm

    Love it. Yay for Usborne!!! I love my Usborne books so much, and I’m also a consultant, haha.

  7. August 15, 2011 4:07 pm

    I love your binder – it looks so neat and organized.

Leave a Reply

