Skip to content

Armchair Travel

August 30, 2011

We read the book Pharaoh’s Boat today, which was about the building, burial, and excavation of Khufu’s funeral boat in front of the Great Pyramid.  It was discovered in 1954 and has been reassembled and put on display.  So of course I was curious to see it.  One Google search lead to another and we landed at Nova where there is a 360° interactive tour of the Great Pyramid site at Giza and several of the other temples and sites around Luxor and the Valley of the Kings.  The boys and I spent a long time checking everything out.  It was a very fine way to spend an afternoon!

(Excepting the very narrow interior passageways of the Great Pyramid.  I got claustrophobic just looking at them.)

On a related note, I’m finding all kinds of great books that hadn’t yet been published the last time we took a trip through ancient history.  I’m excited to see what else is awaiting us in our travels.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Stephanie permalink
    August 31, 2011 12:42 am

    I’ll try the Nova website tomorrow. My boys love Pyramids and history.

    I still admire all your energy, I feel so tired at the end of the day and I only have two boys.

    My boys took swim lessons too, I’m glad it’s over, now we can focus on more important things like reading and writing. 🙂

    Swim is fun, and they were learning to swim but our routine was all different, they focus more on learning in the morning, afternoon and being tired was not the best for them.

    They are not school age anyway, but I like to establish a routine. That way, once it becomes the real thing, they won’t even notice the transition.

Leave a Reply

