Skip to content

The End of Rapunzel

September 3, 2011

Guess what I did yesterday?

I was always planning to cut my hair when I turned 35, but on my 35th birthday I was 7 months pregnant and fairly emotional and I just knew that chopping my hair at that point would not be a good thing!

So, age 40? Nice idea, but no again.  I’ll have to do something else to celebrate that milestone.  Something about that pregnancy and then nursing made my hair grow and grow and grow some more.  It has been getting ridiculously long and I couldn’t stand it any more!  So my cousin came over today and did the honors–16 inches chopped off!

Truthfully, I decided to cut it about 10 months ago, but it’s taken me a while to work up the courage!

I thought I’d spend this week doing all my favorite fancy hair-dos.  It didn’t really happen, which just shows why I needed to cut it.  I don’t have the time to take care of two feet of hair these days.  We joked that I finally got a “Mom haircut,” it only took me 10 years and 4 kids!

I did take a few pictures for posterity’s sake.

The curls:

Also notice the new glasses I had to get after E stepped on my other pair.

Here’s the X and O french braid.  It looks pretty wacky in the back because I’m a klutz at french braiding when I can’t see it, but I had to try it while I had enough hair to pull it off.  I almost had too much hair.  Getting those two braids into an O was…tricky.

But then I slept on it and the next day it looked like this:

Now if I could wear medieval gowns every day, I’d be sorely tempted to keep it long, but….that’s just not my life!

And so…

One snip–

 Two snips–

and…

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2011 7:56 am

    I wouldn’t call that a “mom” haircut. It looks really lovely. I bet it feels light and bouncy.

    I can’t even imagine having 16 inches of hair to cut off. Once mine gets down to my shoulders I end up cutting it short again. But it would be fun to have hair to braid and twist and such. I haven’t ever had that.

  2. September 3, 2011 9:28 am

    Looks great!

  3. Emily S. permalink
    September 3, 2011 11:58 am

    It looks great! I like the haircut. I can’t believe it was so long. WOW!

  4. September 3, 2011 3:07 pm

    I’m amazed at your braiding abilities. I could never make it look that good even on someone else’s head, let alone mine. =)

    I like the new haircut. It looks lighter and fun. I hope you like it. Did you donate your hair?

  5. Kimley permalink
    September 3, 2011 3:20 pm

    It looks really good Kristiana! I like it. I can’t believe you cut off a foot! It’ll probably be a nice change though, now that it won’t take so long to do…

  6. Denise Gonda permalink
    September 3, 2011 8:23 pm

    oh wow! I didn’t know your hair was so long. I think my Mom’s hair got that long at one point too. I’m glad you took pics so you and the kids will remember it as the years go by!

  7. Sheila permalink
    September 3, 2011 11:20 pm

    Very cute hairstyle on you! I’m impressed with your braiding skills, too.

  8. September 4, 2011 2:18 pm

    I didn’t realize your hair was that long! I love the new haircut and glasses too! Did you donate it? Someone will be lucky to get your beautiful hair!

  9. Susan permalink
    September 4, 2011 4:27 pm

    Very nice! I used to know a little girl who had her very long hair cut; she donated the hair to an organization that makes wigs for children with cancer. It helped her deal with the decision. Looking forward to seeing you soon! Susan

  10. September 4, 2011 5:26 pm

    WOW!!! You look so great– long or short hair! 🙂 And I, too, am glad that you took before pictures! ;-D WAY TO BE BRAVE!!!

  11. Francesca Rose permalink
    September 4, 2011 7:36 pm

    Awesome!!! You look great! That is what I’m doing this Thursday….I’m so excited to wack off another foot! I do it about every year and a half. Fun to see your before and afters!

  12. September 5, 2011 7:35 pm

    WOW!!!! I can’t believe your hair is gone. I’m not sure I will recognize you next time I see you 🙂 It looks beautiful!!! I bet your head feels lighter 🙂

  13. Tamaran permalink
    September 6, 2011 9:00 am

    The funny thing is that you waited until AFTER the heat of the summer to cut it!
    I love it! The lenght is a little shorter than I thought you would go-but am proud of you for being brave. It looks so cute!

  14. Stephanie permalink
    September 12, 2011 2:40 am

    Wow!!
    It takes courage to cut hair, I had really long hair when I was a teenager and it took me 5 years to decide to finally have a haircut. I know very well how it feels. 🙂

    Your new haircut looks great on you!!

    I can’t braid my own hair at all, let alone do an X and O french braid.

Leave a Reply

