Skip to content

Memory Work Monday

September 26, 2011

We started off the year with high hopes and expectations regarding memory work, but so far we’ve memorized just two scriptures, a poem, and the order of classification (kingdom, phylum, class, etc…) besides our Latin vocabulary.  Not a great showing for 5 weeks of school.  When life gets hectic or we get a late start, memory work seems to be the first thing to get dropped from our day.  That is going to change!

Here’s what we’re working on this week:

  • Scriptures: We’re working on the Old Testament mastery scriptures.  This week’s is Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.  In all they ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct they paths.
  • Poetry: D has poetry in First Language Lessons.  He’s reviewing “The Caterpillar” and is now learning “Work”:
Work while you work, play while you play;
This is the way to be happy each day.
All that you do, do with your might;
Things done by halves are never done right.
(I should probably have all the boys work on this one.  We need it.)
  • The other two are finishing up “A Little Brother Follows Me” (we need the message in this one too):
A careful boy I want to be;
a little brother follows me.
I do not dare to go astray
for fear he’ll go the self-same way.

I cannot once escape his eyes;
whate’er he sees me do, he tries.
Like me he says he’s going to be-
that little brother following me.

He thinks that I am good and fine;
believes in every word of mine.
The bad in me he must not see-
that little brother following me.

I must remember as I go
through summer’s sun and winter’s snow
I’m building for the years to be
that little brother following me.
  • Skip counting 3s and 4s for C and D
  • Latin vocabulary flashcards and chants
  • Subject and object pronouns
  • Five Kingdoms and their basic characteristics (monerans, protists, fungi, plants, animals.)  A had his science test today covering these, but I think we could still use a little more work.
  • Music: C is memorizing “Christus Vincit” and everyone is (still) learning “The Books of the Old Testament” song and reviewing songs for the Primary program.  Of course everyone’s congested and sneezy so singing hasn’t exactly been on our priority list lately.

Check out Miss Moe’s blog for more memory work ideas.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 26, 2011 10:11 pm

    Looks like a great list. We’ve had a slow start as well. I’ve enjoyed reading all about your trip–it truely looks like a dream trip! Glad you enjoyed yourselves so much. And thanks for the link-up!

Leave a Reply

