Skip to content

There’s more? How much did you cram into 9 days?

September 28, 2011

A lot!  I have trouble slowing down.  I like to be busy, especially when I travel.  I figure if I’m going to pay $$ to go somewhere, I’m going to get my money’s worth and see as much as I possibly can.  Although DH is the same way, we thought we might go a bit slower on this trip since we were travelling with four children.  We didn’t too much though.  They are really good little travellers!  We did have to account for smaller tummies and shorter legs, but for the most part, they were as eager as we were to get out and about every day so we saw and did a lot!

I’m almost weary of the travelblogging, but I do have a few more odds and ends to share.

Like the fact that we went clear to Maine to see Eartha.

Eartha is a 3-story world globe at the DeLorme map company’s headquarters in Yarmouth.  They make GPS and computer maps and such.  I can’t even remember where we heard about this (Nat’l Geographic ad perhaps?) but A is absolutely fascinated by maps and globes so it was a must-see.  We looked it up online and saw that it was right off the freeway and on our way to Bath. It’s not every day you see the world’s largest revolving globe, although they were working on the internal motor that day and it wasn’t revolving.

Personally, I was more impressed by the Mapparium in Boston.  (We weren’t allowed to take pictures inside so click on the link to see it.)  It’s another globe about 3 stories high at the Mary Baker Eddy Library at the world headquarters of the First Church of Christ, Scientist.  It’s made from stained glass and you actually walk through it.  The globe is the world as it was in 1935, which was really fascinating, especially seeing all the different country names in Africa.  It also has fabulous acoustics that we could experiment with.  If you stand under the North Pole, everything you say is in surround sound, although for once the boys had nothing to say!  Eartha may have been free, but the Mapparium was well worth the $6 admission!

Since we had a few minutes to spare before the Mapparium tour, the docents were kind enough to show us the inside of their church.  It was a beautiful building with one of the largest pipe organs in the country.  A liked that.

But back to Maine…

On C’s must see list was Brunswick, the home of his hero, Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain, who led the 20th Maine on Little Round Top at Gettysburg.  Brunswick was also on our way, so we stopped off and found Bowdoin College, where Chamberlain served on the faculty and as president.  There’s a nice statue of him on campus and across the street is his residence, now a museum.

C with his hero

One of my goals on this trip was to eat local.  No national chains allowed!  The boys don’t particularly like seafood, but they were adventurous a few times.  I’ve always wanted to stop at one of those roadside lobster stands in Maine, so we did just that for lunch one day.  Fresh lobster rolls, crabcakes, and hotdogs for the boys (why are hotdogs in Maine always red??), gorgeous scenery, whipping wind–it was pretty chilly!  But oh, so worth it.  Good memories.

I have feet, really I do.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2011 1:30 am

    Love it! I think you are amazing! I have yet to blog about our trip to the Church History sites, and I’m also behind on my blogging here in Mongolia. So, good one on ya!! It is so much work! BTW, did you see that I mentioned you and your boys in Korea? We found a place that your boys would LOVE!!

  2. September 28, 2011 8:51 am

    Sounds fab! After reading your posts about your trip, I’ve added quite a few places to my must visit lists. And the mystery of red hotdogs is something my husband laughs about every time he visits that area for work. I just want to know why the buns open at the top and not the side!

    • cellista permalink*
      September 28, 2011 11:26 am

      Yes, the buns! I want to know the same thing!

  3. Anonymous permalink
    September 28, 2011 11:48 am

    I have enjoyed every blog post that you have written. It was almost like being there. Thanks for sharing as much as you did. Now I want to go to all these places too. I’m glad my grandsons were such good travelers.
    Lots of love,

    Grandma

Leave a Reply

