Skip to content

Author’s Ridge

October 4, 2011

When we were in Concord, we stopped by the Sleepy Hollow cemetery to see Author’s Ridge.  Louisa May Alcott, Henry David Thoreau, Ralph Waldo Emerson, and Harriett Lothrop (who wrote the Five Little Peppers books under the name Margaret Sidney) are all buried there in the same section.

I love all the pens and pencils people have left on the graves.

Alcott family plot

Henry David Thoreau

Ralph Waldo Emerson (in the center)

Orchard House, where Louisa May Alcott wrote Little Women:

I wanted to tour the inside, but it was either that or go back to the Minute Man visitor’s center so the boys could get their junior ranger badges.  The badges won.  The boys don’t really even know who Louisa May Alcott is anyway.  In a few more years when they’ve studied a lot more American literature and can appreciate all the literary sites in Massachusetts, we’ll have to go back.

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2011 10:54 am

    I love these pics, and I would love to go there sometime. I am on the west coast, but the next time I am out east I will be stopping there. Thanks for sharing.

  2. October 5, 2011 2:21 pm

    Pretty neat…I would have loved to go in that house!

  3. October 5, 2011 9:10 pm

    Yet another neat place you visited. I think all the pencils are really neat also.

  4. Michelle permalink
    October 5, 2011 11:37 pm

    We were able to tour Orchard House, but we didn’t go to Sleepy Hollow cemetery–now I know another place we need to visit if we ever go back!

  5. October 6, 2011 1:23 am

    wow, what a neat trip! I’d love to visit this someday!

Leave a Reply

