Skip to content

Another birthday

October 23, 2011

If you make plans to see a play (in a town four hours away) for your birthday, get DH to finally take time off work, reserve a hotel room, find a babysitter to watch all of the children for your first getaway since your 21-month-old came into this world, and finally buy tickets to said play, chances are good that the very next day DH will inform you he now has a meeting he MUST attend the morning after the play–which is in a town four hours away from your own.  At least in my life, chances are good.  Maybe even better than good.  My birthday was kind of wacky last year too.

We were originally going to go to the Dial M for Murder matinee on the 22nd, which was my actual birthday, but decided to take time off earlier in the week and spend the night so DH would be home for a chance to work some overtime this weekend.  But as things go, it’s crunch time for a massive part of the project he’s working on at the moment, and meetings are inevitable.  He wanted to postpone our plans when he found out about his meetings, but I had to tell him it was now or never.  It was the last week of the Shakespeare Festival. So we dropped the boys off at my aunt’s house and headed to Cedar City on Thursday afternoon.

We debated back and forth all week whether we should stay overnight anyway and just get up at 5 a.m. to drive back, or if we should head for home immediately after the play, which was what we ended up doing.  He was doing the driving and decided he was up for it.  I stayed up  (at least until Lehi) to talk to him and keep him awake and we ultimately pulled in our driveway at quarter to two Friday morning.  It was a very very long day, but as I said in my last post, I’m grateful DH has a job.  And the play was worth it!  It was wonderful.

On the way down, DH asked me about my hopes and dreams and goals for the next year of my life.  I really didn’t have much to say.  Birthdays can be a time both of reflection and goal setting, but honestly I feel like I’ve just been trying to get through one day (hour?) at a time lately without much thought toward the past or the future.  I was hoping for a couple hours last night after the boys went to bed to sit, eat some birthday cake (carrot with cream cheese frosting, yummy!) and do, well, maybe a little thinking but not a whole lot of anything else!  But as luck would have it, E was having a hard night and didn’t conk out until nearly 11.  (Payback for leaving him overnight?  Or just a massive sugar high from the cupcakes, cake, orange sticks, candy corn, and apples and carmel dip we ate in the afternoon as we hosted a Scarlet Pimpernel watching party with some friends from church? 🙂 )

Anyway, I’m still looking for a couple hours to sit and contemplate my 38th year of life.  If I come up with anything good, I’ll let you know!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2011 8:26 am

    Happy Birthday! It sounds like you did have an eventful day. A Shakepeare play does sound fun but the long drive before and after does not. Except that you got to spend that time with your husband and actually have an uninterrupted conversation with him. Those are rare.

    My birthday is this week and I have such exciting things planned. I have an orthodontist appointment for Sophie. Choir practice for Sophie with an hour of watching the boys play wii games at Target while we wait. And then that night my husband has a meeting so we are going to be “celebrating” on another day, yet to be determined because our schedule is jam packed with meetings and events this week and next. So in other words my birthday is just another busy day in the life of our family.

  2. October 24, 2011 10:19 am

    Happy Birthday! It looks like we share the same birthday month! I have always thought October was the best month to have a birthday! I’m glad you could do something special on your day. I love plays! I’m glad you went despite the conflicts.

    Judi 🙂

Leave a Reply

