Skip to content

Week 11

November 5, 2011

The planets aligned and we ended up with a Saturday completely free!  So after playing in the snow all morning, we’re now in the middle of watching The Ten Commandments. What a marathon!  We’re finally up to Exodus in our Old Testament reading so we thought this would be a great movie to watch since the boys have never seen it, not to mention it’s been years since I’ve watched it.

It’s been a pretty good week.  Despite excitement about Halloween, we did a lot of good work on Monday.  D has had a terrible cough and runny nose since then though, so he missed our history club meeting on Wednesday as well as Kindermusik class.  (Is it terrible to say that I was grateful to get those couple of hours free?  I think I’ve been running around a bit too much lately.)

In our regular history this week, we read about the Assyrians again and King Ashurbanipal and his library at Nineveh.  We finished reading the Gilgamesh picture books and You Wouldn’t Want to Be an Assyrian Soldier.  I really love that entire series for elementary history students.

Then for history club–

We meet with three other families once a month and take turns hosting.  The family in charge (last month was our turn) plans an activity or two from the scheduled Story of the World chapters and then everyone gets a turn to do a presentation on something they’ve learned in the past month or show off a project or something.  We generally bring food as well, although we haven’t had much variety from the different ancient cultures.  This month we made sebetu rolls from one of our activity books.  They’re based on a 3700-year-old recipe and are essentially garlic biscuits.  They should have had scallions in them too, but it was a last minute decision to bake right before history club….and I didn’t take any pictures either.  I even made them again later on since D missed out and forgot to take pictures again!

A talked about the Code of Hammurabi and he and C showed their Sumerian cylinder seals that they made.  For the craft, we made Babylonian cone mosaics like they would have used to decorate their walls.  Instead of clay we used golf tees in floral foam blocks.  The mom in charge sent some home so D could make one too.

And now what am I supposed to do with them?  I’m not terribly crafty.  I never know what to do with our finished projects.  I guess that’s why I have a blog.  Photograph it, post it, toss it.  This was more about the process than the finished project.

The chicken mummy now–that’s destined to be a keepsake!  We finally started our mummy…now that we’re past Egypt in our studies.


It’s been three weeks and now that I think about it, we probably need to change the salt mixture.  This is more revolting to me this time around than it was four years ago.  At least the boys have been willing to do more of the icky stuff this time.  Here C’s trying to scrape the salt off the chicken the last time we changed it.

We began learning about the circulatory system in science and colored lungs for our body cutouts.  We had a short day of school on Friday though and didn’t get around to our experiment or lapbooks.  Memory work was kind of a bust this week too.  I need to decide on a new poem to memorize.  We did art though!  I found this project that looked easy, so we went on a walk Tuesday to collect some leaves to outline and ended up with these:

Everyone’s written work went well this week.  D is working on long-I words in reading and learned his zip code in First Language Lessons.  He also finished Singapore 2A!!!  C began fractions in 2B and A continues to work with fractions in 5A.  A and C are both working on 4-level analysis of sentences in their respective grammar books.  Somedays they do great and somedays C can’t distinguish a verb from an adjective.  I still wonder if anything we’ve learned in the last 10 weeks has really sunk in.  Time will tell, I suppose, but I may be rethinking our grammar choices.

Writing with Ease went well for both C and D, but I gave A the week off from writing again although he did do a very nice outline on Assyrian soldiers and slaves for history.  The complete Writing with Skill is finally available for PDF download, so we’re going to get serious about writing again.

A took the test covering the first unit of Latin and got 91%!  If we hadn’t counted the dumb little mistakes he made, he would have gotten 95%.  He needs to learn to be more careful though, even when writing down what he’s used to chanting, so we’ll keep working on double checking answers before turning in the test.

For literature, we’re still working on our Aeneid retelling and we finished The Phantom Tollbooth which is our book club selection for this month.  C also read the Voyages of Sinbad and A is reading a Redwall book.

German and geography were kind of nonexistent, but we did art!  One day we’ll have one of those mythical weeks where everything happens!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2011 7:27 pm

    Your history club sounds like a dream come true! Enjoyed reading about your week!

  2. November 5, 2011 10:15 pm

    That looks like an awesome week! My hat is off to you, for doing the chicken. We’re traveling a fair amount right now – Andy’s got work that takes him out & we often tag along – so I opted out of the chicken. We’ll be back to the Ancients in 4 years, maybe it will work out then. In the mean time, I can’t say I’m toooo sorry not to be scraping salt off of icky chicken parts, lol!! But we just might have to do those mosaics. Foam & golf tees might be just my speed. Plus, those leaves are great.

    Now, if I can just get my kids healthy enough to do our work effectively too. Looks like right now you & I are covering a lot of the same stuff. Makes me want to see if I can’t get a wrap-up post done. I take the pictures, but getting them on the blog is just killing me!

  3. November 5, 2011 10:24 pm

    Great pictures. I am jealous that you have snow!

  4. November 5, 2011 10:42 pm

    I can’t believe your kids haven’t seen 10 Commandments. It is one of Henry’s favorites. We watched it (or parts of it… the plagues are his favorite part) just about every Sunday for months.

    We are going to finally get around to wrapping our chicken mummy next week… I think. I keep putting it off. But since we are going to be doing a few more Egypt chapters in SoTW I figure it is time to revisit Cleopatra and finally give her proper wrappings and such.

    I am always amazed at how much you get done. Your weeks are really full. Ours are too. I know what you mean when you say it is nice to have a week off of a class. We didn’t have piano on Monday as usual due to the holiday and the day felt a lot less rushed despite the looming trick or treating.

  5. November 6, 2011 7:54 pm

    We are using Kindermusik too, but sadly I don’t get to it as often as I would like. We are also reading Exodus right now. I tried to get my first grader to do the chicken mummy. But he said he wanted to mummify a real person. So perhaps another time we will be able to mummify a chicken. Love the art work.

  6. November 7, 2011 7:56 am

    You already have SNOW!! Yikes! I just saw your blog at the Homeschool Blog Awards and decided to come check you out. I am your newest follower and would love for you to follow me back, if you want to =-)
    Beth

    http://www.livinglifeintentionally.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

