Skip to content

11 things for 11/11/11

November 11, 2011

I couldn’t let this date go by without a post!

  1. We went to the Veteran’s Day program up at the University of Utah this morning.  They honored 11 different vets for their service.  The boys were a little wiggly, but it was good to be there…and get teary-eyed over “Amazing Grace” on the bagpipes.
  2. The boys really loved the cannons they fired off after the program as well as the WWI and WWII-era ambulances on display from the Fort Douglas museum.
  3. We went up to the city cemetery too.  There are some graves I’ve been meaning to find, but the office was closed since it was a holiday. And last time I went up there, the office had already closed.  One day I’ll time it right.
  4. I got a “promotion” at dress rehearsal last night.  One of the principal cellists injured her thumb and can’t play and after rearranging the section, I ended up on the second stand for the first piece…which is quite a bit more stressful than being buried in the back of the section.  We’re playing a side-by-side concert with area high schoolers joining us and the cello section is huge.  It’s not really a promotion as we rotate seating for every concert anyway; it’s just always my bad luck to end up in a new spot for the concert that I’ve never sat in before.  I don’t mind sitting second stand if that’s where I always sit and can get used to the way things sound.  It’s just the change in perspective that always messes me up.
  5. I guess I’ll be practicing those 16th notes in the Mendelssohn a little bit harder tomorrow…sometime…squeezed in around a Relief Society activity and a Primary activity.
  6. Once this concert is over, maybe I’ll quit dreaming my music every night.
  7. We’ve caught an obscene number of mice in the past two weeks.  I want to scream when I still hear little skittering noises in my ceiling at night.
  8. My KitchenAid is apparently dying from the workout I put it through making whole wheat bread.  Any opinions on getting a Bosch?
  9. A asks me for help with his Latin like I should have a clue what he’s talking about.  Guess what I’m studying over Thanksgiving break?
  10. Now that I’m 37 years old, I finally understand what appositive, gerund, and participial phrases are (I think!) thanks to Grammar Town, A’s language arts book.  I’m really starting to feel like I’m in over my head here.  And it’s only 5th grade!
  11. OK, one more thing? I can’t think of another thing.  This week has kind of fried my head, but–Family history, I am doing it, my family history…(sing along if you know the song) I’ve had a few breakthroughs this week in some of my research, and it’s so fun!  (But then I’m one who thinks it is fun to get lost in 19th-century census records.)
And that’s all for now.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    November 14, 2011 11:13 am

    My Mom has had the same Bosch mixer for 25 years, at least. It’s amazing. I don’t have one, but I really want one. I’d be happy with a KitchenAid right now, though–I have nothing & have been doing all my dough by hand. From past experience I like Bosch mixers much better, though. 🙂

  2. Tamaran permalink
    November 14, 2011 12:54 pm

    My mom also has had the same Bosch mixer for most of my life. I wanted a Bosch, but got a KitchenAid for our wedding, so that is what I had. It started dying after a few years. It worked great for cookies…but hated when I did bread-and that is mostly what I used it for. SO I gave my almost dead KitchenAid to our not-daughter (Malissa) and got a Bosch. I’ve only had it for…2 years-but it is doing great. It doesn’t mind doing double batches of dough. Works great for mashing potatoes. I love the cookie paddles (my mom’s didn’t have that). Love my Bosch.

    And sorry again for forgetting to pick you up Saturday night!

  3. Francesca Rose permalink
    November 14, 2011 10:16 pm

    I have a Bosch. I love it. I have had it for almost 15 years (wedding present), and I make whole wheat bread in it every week, sometimes twice a week! They are great! I always make the six-loaf recipe and it does fine!

Leave a Reply

