Skip to content

Would you count all those candles!

December 3, 2011

My oldest child turned 11 today!

And Grandma turned….

Well, we won’t say how old Grandma is now.

C loves the story about calling Grandma from the hospital and when she thanked me for the birthday present I’d given her, I had to say, “Well let me tell you about your real present!  He weighs 6 lbs. 15 oz. and is just beautiful!”  Ever since then, we’ve had two birthdays to celebrate on December 3.  This week got a little busy though, so we celebrated together on Thursday with cake and presents.

Today, we went out to breakfast and then went to the 2nd annual inspirational art exhibit at the Joseph Smith Building.  Then DH took A up to the scout shop to buy stuff for Boy Scouts.  No more Cub Scouts!  They came home to more presents, then the boys all played outside with DH before he had to go to work.

After that we spent the afternoon figuring out how to play Ticket to Ride Europe.

It was great fun, but as we let C and D play too and had to explain strategy to them on every single turn, it took nearly 2 1/2 hours to finish rather than the 30-60 minutes suggested.  A loved it though and can’t wait to teach DH how to play.

As for me, I can’t believe he’s 11!  We joke that he’s always been just a short adult, but he is really growing up into such a fine young man. Just as I’m looking forward to D preparing for baptism, I’m looking forward to this next year of A’s life as he prepares to receive the priesthood.  2012 should be a momentous year for our family.

For right now though, I’m feeling kind of partied out.  I feel like we’ve been eating cake for a week now.  Wait, we have been…

Anyway, happy birthday to A!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2011 11:59 pm

    Happy birthday, A! And a week of cake ain’t a bad thing!

  2. December 4, 2011 10:15 am

    I didn’t realize that cub scouts ends and boy scouts begins at age 11. I have so much to learn about scouts. Ian turns 8 in less than an month and I think that will thrust us into the world of scouting.

    Ticket to Rids looks like a fun game. We love games like that here so perhaps we need to give it a try.

    You do have a very fine young man.

    Happy Birthday!

  3. Tamaran permalink
    December 5, 2011 8:54 am

    11. I can hardly believe it. HAPPY LATE BIRTHDAY A!!

Leave a Reply

