Skip to content

Cough, cough, hack, sputter….

December 29, 2011

Thanksgiving break was spent recuperating from an almost broken toe, and we’ve been going practically nonstop ever since.  So I was really looking forward to putting things back in order around here over Christmas break.  But here I sit, hacking my lungs out, watching all my Christmas break plans fade into nothingness.

I know I’ve said it before, but Moms should not be able to get sick.  I guess I’ll blame this one on D.  He picked up this cough around Halloween and it just would not go away.  Then half the household got colds right before Thanksgiving, then the cough came back.  Somewhere in early December, D finally kicked the thing, but by then C had picked it up and now E and I have it.  E, however, coughs a little bit here and there, then runs off to play and is happy and cheerful and oh, so full of energy.  I, on the other hand, feel like I’ve been run over by a truck.  I don’t know if it’s just overexertion from this last semester of school catching up to me or what.  I’m exhausted and have essentially done nothing since Christmas night.

The upside is that DH has been home to take care of me or rather, to take care of everything else while I’ve retreated to my bed.  He had Monday off, then went into work Tuesday morning.  I muddled through until he showed up again after lunch saying his boss sent him home for the rest of the week due to his “use it or lose it” time.  I was so grateful.  He’s been the Mom for me this week. I don’t know what I’d have done without him.

With him, though, I’ve been able to sleep in and not worry about breakfast.  Really, I haven’t worried about preparing any meals, which are always the bane of my existence.  Three square meals a day are overrated anyway.  Tonight we had cold cereal for dinner (and chocolate chip cookies A made today) and it was just fine!

I’ve been able to catch up on articles I’ve bookmarked to read for the past month or two.  I finished my book.  In fact, I’ve done more reading than I have in weeks.  No read alouds though, which has been hard.  Talking too much (talking at all really) just sends me into spasms of coughing.  We have a stack of Christmas books we still haven’t read which I was hoping to fill this week with so as not to feel like Christmas was here and gone in just one day. I was hoping to fill up the days until Epiphany with more activities this year.  Maybe I’ll feel better by the 6th.

I hope I feel better by the 6th!  DH has to work the entire day and evening on New Year’s Eve, then it’s back to work on Monday for him.  We will definitely be doing a very modified and simple school week next week.  It’s always hard to get going again after holidays, but the longer we put it off, the harder it will be.  So we’ll do scriptures and another subject or two and slowly ease our way back into it again.

For now, I’m going to rest up so I have a hope of even managing that much.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

