Skip to content

45 books in 2011

January 3, 2012
I’ve had a lot on my mind lately that I’ve wanted to blog about, but time is working against me, so for now I’ll just post the list of books read in 2011 and my reading plans for 2012.  I read a total of 45 books last year, which was worse than the year before (I can see the difference between having a nursing newborn in the house versus a mobile toddler!)  But considering I could hardly list any books I wanted to read back in January, I don’t think I did too bad!  However, over half of what I read was with the boys either for school, their book club, or as an audiobook.  And my list is heavily weighted towards fiction.   I really love nonfiction, but I find I need peace and quiet to concentrate on reading it, whereas I can always lose myself in a good story no matter what chaos may be erupting around me.  And chaos frequently erupts around here!
So here’s the final list.  Titles in bold were my favorites.  Starred titles were rereads.

Audiobooks with the boys

  1. The Calder Game by Blue Balliett 1/6
  2. *Ballet Shoes by Noel Streatfield 1/27
  3. Gone-Away Lake by Elizabeth Enright 3/24
  4. Return to Gone-Away by Elizabeth Enright
  5. Twenty and Ten by Claire Huchet Bishop 4/12
  6. *The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis 5/
  7. *Prince Caspian by C. S. Lewis
  8. *The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C. S. Lewis 6/2
  9. *The Silver Chair by C. S. Lewis 6/11
  10. *The Horse and His Boy by C. S. Lewis 6/27
  11. *The Magician’s Nephew by C. S. Lewis
  12. *The Last Battle by C. S. Lewis
  13. Cheaper by the Dozen by Frank Gilbreth Jr. and Ernestine Gilbreth Carey
  14. The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg by Rodman Philbrick 8/13
  15. Urchin of the Riding Stars, Mistmantle Chronicles book 1 
  16. 100 Cupboards by N. D. Wilson 9/29 (very weird and I don’t recommend it!)
  17. Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm 10/21

Boys’ book club books

  1. Swiss Family Robinson 3/3 (audiobook) (boys’ book club)
  2. The BFG by Roald Dahl 7/1 (audiobook) (boys’ book club)
  3. Ben and Me by Robert Lawson  (boys’ book club)
  4. The New Adventures of the Mad Scientists’ Club by Bertrand R. Brinley 10/11
  5. The Phantom Tollbooth (audiobook) 11/3

My book club books

  1. *Little Women by Louisa May Alcott 8/17
  2. The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy 10/3
  3. East of Eden by John Steinbeck 12/8

Ancient history literature to read and discuss with A

  1. The Golden Goblet by Eloise Jarvis McGraw 9/21
  2. Gilgamesh the Hero by Geraldine McCaughrean 11/10

Just because books

  1. The Silence of God by Gale Sears 2/21
  2. I Am a Mother by Jane Clayson Johnson 3/9
  3. We were not alone: how an LDS family survived World War II Berlin by Patricia Reece Roper and Karola Hilbert Reece 3/25
  4. *The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien 4/15
  5. A Distant Prayer by Joseph Banks and Jerry Borrowman 3/16
  6. Operation Mincemeat by Ben McIntyre 3/20
  7. The Berlin Candy Bomber by Gail S. Halvorsen 4/28
  8. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society 5/3
  9. Rumors of War (Children of the Promise series vol. 1) by Dean Hughes 5/24
  10. Since You Went Away (vol. 2) by Dean Hughes 5/30
  11. Far From Home (vol. 3) by Dean Hughes 6/2
  12. When We Meet Again (vol. 4) by Dean Hughes 6/4
  13. As Long As I Have You (vol. 5) by Dean Hughes 6/8
  14. The Cello Suites by Eric Siblin 7/1
  15. The Help by Kathryn Stockett 10/8
  16. The King’s Speech 11/3
  17. The Lost Cellos of Lev Aronson by Frances Brent 12/21
  18. The Writing on the Wall by Dean Hughes 12/27 (vol. 1 of Hearts of the Children series)
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

