Skip to content

We’re back at it–

January 8, 2012

It’s so hard to get back in our school routine again after a break (no matter how much we may need that routine!)  Knowing that we still had to celebrate E’s 2nd birthday on the 4th and that four of us were still sort of sick, we decided to ease back into school slowly.  All we attempted was scripture study (which, for the life of me, I can’t seem to be consistent with if we’re not in our school routine), history, and science.  I was glad that we didn’t attempt more.  After resting a lot the week before New Year’s, I was ready to get back to work. But after a week of schoolwork and running around to most of our extracurriculars (music lessons, scouts, orchestra), I was worn out and my coughing fits were getting worse.  On Friday we all finally trooped in to the doctor and found out that E (who hardly sounds sick at all) has pneumonia while DH, A, and I (who sound horrible) are still at the bronchial infection stage.  E’s oxygen levels were really good though so the doctor didn’t think he needed to be hospitalized.  We’re all on antibiotics and hopefully E’s lungs will sound better on Monday when we go back in.  And I don’t want to repeat the trauma of getting him to hold still enough for a chest x-ray again.  That was not fun!

The other three had fun with school though.  They were so ready to get going again.

We had some hiccups with science.  I spent Christmas break trying to get better rather than prepping for school.  So I was a bit unorganized and accidentally printed out the wrong unit for A’s science on Monday.  Rather than the plant kingdom, we’re moving on to the animal kingdom.  When I found the right unit and saw that we needed to gather worms from outside (in January?) we opted to move on to another unit yet again.  C and D are also moving on to the animal kingdom in their lapbooks and began with mammals.  So far, their science has been aligned with A’s, but there is no way that will work for the next few units, so we’re not going to worry about it.  They read about lions and cheetahs and A learned about fish.  Our experiment didn’t work out so well, but he did a nice job labelling his diagram of a fish.

Looking ahead, I can see that we should probably do some dissecting for biology this year, but I’m not sure I have the stomach for it.  So…high school?  Yes, high school will be a great time for dissections (when they can be done independently!)

For history, we also rearranged some of our plans and moved onto ancient India this week since we’ll be talking about China and India in history club this month.  We read Story of the World chapter 9 and part of 30 and did the accompanying mapwork and lapbook pieces.  We also watched two videos about the ancient city of Mohenjo-Daro (thanks for the links, Ritsumei!) and read one Indian folktale and a book about the Ganges River before my voice just gave out!  A also did an outline of a chapter in a book on Ancient India.

So I guess you could say we did a little writing this week as well.  D asked for a reading lesson one day also and then I had him try reading Danny and the Dinosaur to show him that he really can read–a lot more than he thinks he can.  He is constantly saying that he can’t read yet.  While it has been slow going, it is going!

The books we’ve read this week:

In the Old Testament this week we read about the Day of Atonement in Leviticus. For the few times I’ve played the Kol Nidre for the synagogue up in Park City, I’ve never really understood what Yom Kippur was all about.  Now I know!  I am continually amazed at how homeschooling has helped me understand and correlate all these random bits of knowledge I seem to have floating around inside my brain.  (I know this one could have come from scripture study rather than homeschooling, but obviously I missed it the last time I went through the Old Testament on my own.)

Now to decide what to add in this next week.  I’m pretty sure we’re not ready for everything yet, but perhaps math and maybe a little Latin?  We shall see…

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 9, 2012 10:37 am

    Dissecting is a dad job at our house! Hope you all feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

