Skip to content

Hi blog! How are you?

January 23, 2012

What a week!  I don’t even know where to start, and this will probably really ramble, but I thought it was probably time to put something on the blog other than pictures of an eviscerated frog.

So I had to speak in sacrament meeting today.  Despite staying up way too late putting the finishing touches on my talk, I could not fall asleep for anything last night.  Eventually I must have though as DH and I both slept through our alarms and woke up at five to eight this morning (which I suppose is better than five to nine when church is at nine!)  I made it on time (barely) which was good since our Area Authority Seventy decided to come to our ward today.  Talk about a small heart attack moment!  I survived my talk though and came home and just kind of crashed.  I was so exhausted after this entire week.  I took a nap and woke up with 10 minutes to spare before another meeting regarding a stake family history fair that I’m now involved in.

At some point this week I also realized that I had previously been asked to play my cello in church today.  I just couldn’t play and speak so I backed out of the music.  Our poor ward music director–I think the last three or so times she’s asked me to play I’ve had to back out or postpone for some reason or another.  I’m not a flake, I promise.  Now I’m committed to play February 12.  Funny, my talk today was on commitment.

Let’s see, Monday was a great day!  I was planning on school despite the holiday, only because we still haven’t gotten back in a good routine since Christmas break, but C had cub scout winter camp so those plans went out the window.  The other three boys went out and had fun with Daddy for a few hours during which I was supposed to practice my cello, but instead I lounged around, wasted time on the internet, got caught up on some reading and had quite a nice couple of hours to myself.

Tuesday was a really great school day, but sadly it was the only one this week.  I’m not sure what happened exactly, but the week went downhill from there.  Everything seemed to go wrong on Wednesday as we were trying to squeeze in some schoolwork and make tapioca pudding to take to history club before we had to go meet Grandma and Poppa at the airport (we’re car sitting while they’re gone to Panama for a couple of weeks.)  DH and I had a miscommunication over what car was headed where and I lost about a half an hour waiting for him when he wasn’t coming, then we practically had to turn around to drive D back to Kindermusik class which we were woefully underprepared for.  And then DH had a meeting that night…”Oh, didn’t I tell you?”  No….

The rest of the week kind of continued in that same vein.  Nobody could concentrate on schoolwork.  Everything seemed to take twice as long as it should have.  We’ve got some serious math issues and that’s all I want to say about that.  It was also concert week, which meant two more nights away from home and family for me which is always hard.  Besides missing the boys’ bedtime, evenings are my downtime and my school prep time and when I’m gone essentially four nights in a row, I just can’t seem to keep up with everything that needs to happen around here in the daytime.  Staying up late to catch up of course always backfires on me, and I’ll admit I’ve been quite crabby and have had a few meltdowns of my own this week, but maybe that’s just my hormones talking (screaming?)

Plus I’ve been trying to carve out enough practice time so I’d feel good about the concert.  It’s was our children’s concert, but some of the music was not easy at all and we’ve had just under three weeks to get it down.  We played “Ride of the Valkyries”, “Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity” from Elgar’s The Planets, the storm movement from Beethoven’s 6th Symphony (Have you ever noticed that the thunder always comes before the lightning in that piece?  We figured it was because he was deaf!) and Superman, among other pieces.  The theme was “Up in the Air.”  Superman is the music our conductor likes to pull out when his college orchestra students say, “Let’s play something easy like movie music.”  Superman is not easy!  Despite a few moments this week of wondering how in the world I was going to pull off everything I was committed to, the concert at least went very well last night and we had a nice crowd despite the incredibly snowy, yucky to drive in weather.

Speaking of weather, on top of the meeting DH forgot to tell me about Wednesday night, he was gone overnight with A on Friday for A’s first Boy Scout Klondike derby up in Heber, where it snowed tremendously and made for a white-knuckle drive back home in whiteout conditions yesterday afternoon.  They got home safely, although two children at two winter camps managed to lose three winter hats.  What’s up with that?!

And next week is a concert week again.  I certainly hope it’s not a repeat of last week.  I’m worn out!

There are some really good things happening around here though that I want to share, if only I could find time to sit and write about them!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

