Skip to content

It’s Daddy’s turn, I’m out of here

February 1, 2012

The books are laid out.  The checklists are made.  Daddy gets to manage the education of the children for the next two days! If the 2-year-old will cooperate, things should run pretty smoothly.  And if not, I guess it’s not the end of the world.  We’ve done a lot of work in the past three days and could almost just take two days off, except I don’t want the boys to think it’s always fun and games when Daddy’s home and in charge.  We include him in most of our more exciting projects and field trips, but it’s so nice to let him do some of the more nitty gritty reading, writing, and ‘rithmetic work every once in a while.  (And he really appreciates me when I come back!)

So where am I going?  I’m taking two days off to go to Rootstech!  I’m excited!

And just what is Rootstech, you might be asking?  Rootstech is a genealogy/technology convention, which just makes me laugh. This is probably stereotyping, but the people you would imagine going to a tech convention are generally not the people you picture doing family history.  But it works.  It works fabulously.  The face of family history is changing, and there is so much potential in technology for researching and sharing family histories.

I went to a couple of classes last year and got to look through the exhibit hall and it was fun.  This year, family history consultants got a special deal and I had some birthday money to spend, so I signed up for the whole weekend.  Some of the class descriptions go right over my head, and I have a feeling it will be information overload–like trying to drink out of a fire hose–but I’m looking forward to getting some new ideas.  Although it will probably take me weeks to digest it all.

We’re planning a Stake family history fair in April so my thoughts have been turning to family history lately anyway.  Tomorrow I’m spending two hours at classes specifically for ward family history consultants although I’ll have to miss the afternoon sessions to teach my cello students.  DH has Friday off though so I can attend the entire day and again on Saturday, when there is a devotional with Elder Paul Koelliker of the Seventy.

I’ve been looking forward to this chance to get out and do something for myself, especially something that is one of my passions, not to mention one of my church callings.  I hope it turns out to be a fabulous weekend.

**********************************************

For those interested, Rootstech is streaming 14 sessions online, including the keynotes each day, free of charge for those not able to get to the Salt Palace.  Just go to the Rootstech homepage for access.  Syllabi for the different classes are also available for download.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tamaran permalink
    February 2, 2012 8:59 am

    Hope you have fun! I’m excited for you to get out and do something fo rjust you.

    • Tamaran permalink
      February 2, 2012 9:00 am

      My typing abilities leave something to be desired…

  2. Michelle permalink
    February 2, 2012 3:00 pm

    This sounds awesome–I’ve really been wanting to do more family history lately. Have fun!

  3. February 2, 2012 6:53 pm

    Good for you! We just attended a youth fireside (yes, our oldest is now 12, so scary) but the main focus was on family history. I was somewhat surprised at the focus and excited too. Elder Bednar had some amazing words to say about youth and family history (it is on the youth website). Grace came home with a lot of interest and desire to do family history and got herself set up to do some indexing.

    Elder Koelliker was in our stake when we lived in Sugarhouse.

    Enjoy!

    Judi 🙂

Leave a Reply

