Skip to content

Taking it easy today…

February 6, 2012

I am so wiped out from the last few days!  I had such a hard time getting up this morning, I just knew it needed to be a slow day.  And slow it was!  We took forever to eat breakfast (after I finally dragged myself out of bed), we took forever to make bread, we took forever, well, to do everything.  But we did fit in personal scripture study, Old Testament study together, math (C started his new book!), and art before I called it a day.  And D had a quick reading lesson, and A finally finished his long writing assignment from Saturday that he had spent hours on already.

Yes, Saturday–they talked Daddy out of doing school on Friday while I was at Rootstech.  So they had a few things left to do on Saturday, which were nowhere completed when I came home for lunch.  They had however folded the mound of laundry that had been piling up on the couch for most of last week.  The laundry basket is still full though.  I’m convinced it’s the bottomless basket.  It always has clothes in it.  We just can’t seem to empty it all the way before we add more to it.  That should probably be on my to-do list this week, along with quite a few other things!  The house just looks like Mommy hasn’t been home much the past few days.

But I have so many other things I’d rather be doing right now!  My head (which DH says goes a million miles a minute anyway) is simply swirling with 101 new ideas after three days spent thinking genealogy.  As chicken was in the crockpot and we were finished with schoolwork by about 1:30 today, I was going to spend the rest of the afternoon playing around with some of my new ideas.  But E was having a really hard time settling down for a nap.  I finally had to sit and rock him and he fell asleep in my arms.  When telling DH this later on, I asked E if he just missed his Mommy.  He nodded a big “Yes!”  And it was nice to have him snuggle up on my lap in the rocking chair.

After he went out, A came back in from playing outside and wanted to index.  Yes, I introduced my 11-year-old to FamilySearch Indexing and he just loves it!  (To add to my list of things I never thought I’d say:  No, you may not download another batch, it’s time for dinner! )  We had our two laptops at the kitchen table so I could help him when he needed it, and needless to say, I didn’t get nearly as much time to myself as I was hoping, but it was good to sit there together.  We are interested in so many of the same things.  He’s still not the greatest at reading cursive and he really needs to practice his typing, but it was fun helping him index.  He’s almost indexed as many names as I have.  DH and I used to sit and index on Sunday afternoons, but then church moved to the afternoon last year, and by the time the boys went to bed, we were generally too exhausted to do anything like indexing.  Now that we have 9:00 church, we’re trying to fill up our Sunday afternoons with good things, so maybe I’ll get back into indexing this year.

Yesterday afternoon, I took a nap though.  I am seriously wiped out from all the mental stimulation of Rootstech (I’ll save what I learned for another post) as well as taking care of my cello students, and the boys since B had to work both Friday night and Saturday afternoon.  A was supposed to play at a baptism Saturday early evening, but the guy who fills up the font apparently didn’t get the message, so it was postponed two hours so the water could heat up.  I was so glad.  DH was home by that point and wasn’t feeling well so he offered to stay home with E while we went back later that night.  It was one less hour to wrestle a 2-year-old in a church meeting.

And now we’ve had family home evening, the boys are in bed (not asleep, but I’ll take it), and there’s a Poirot movie calling my name, so that’s all for now!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

