Skip to content

Another week flies by

March 31, 2012

After taking two weeks off for spring break, I kind of dreaded getting back into things, but the boys did really great.  We all love a little routine around here.  I just need to remember that!  Monday and Tuesday we worked hard and essentially did everything on our checklist.  Wednesday however, was a different story!

I’ve heard it said that you can’t homeschool well, have fabulous meals, and an immaculate house.  You can only ever have two of the three and I believe that.  There are only so many hours in the day.  Generally my energies go toward doing well in homeschool, ok meals, and a semi-picked up house.  Occasionally we have fabulous meals, but frankly, I don’t think I’m destined for an immaculate house ever!  We had to host history club this week though so the house had to be taken care of.  You’d think I would have accomplished a lot over our two weeks off from school but . . . I didn’t.  I have no excuses.

So Wednesday we were picking up like mad (please tell me that someone else out there takes piles of clutter and stacks them in their bedroom and shuts the door when they have guests over!) and were making pita bread for our Greek feast.  Silly me thought we could do some schoolwork in there as well, but you can only manage two of the three . . .  Piano practice happened and then I discovered E on my bed unwrapping all the chocolate eggs leftover from scout pack meeting the night before (which I told DH not to bring home!)  I told C to keep an eye on him and not let him get in my room again.  So C did what he thought was the best solution and locked my bedroom door, from the inside, and shut it.  Unlike the bathroom door which has a hole in it so you can unlock it with a bobby pin, there is no way to unlock this door from the outside.  I took the doorknob off and still couldn’t get it open.  And I might mention that there were things in my room we needed for history club!  DH finally had to come home for an early lunch and help me out.  Needless to say, I was a little stressed.

History club went really well though.  The weather was beautiful and everyone in our club was able to come after we postponed for illness last week.  We had some short presentations on the Olympics, the Parthenon, and the lighthouse at Pharos, the we had our own Olympic games in the big field behind our house.  We had running races and stick horse races, javelin (pvc pipe) and discus throws.  The kids all had a lot of fun.  Then we came back to our house and painted Greek pots outside on the sidewalk and then had a feast.

We painted Greek pots in traditional black paint a few weeks ago, but this week one of the other moms brought colored paint.  Here are the boys’:

Evidently D didn’t quite understand that we were painting the outside of the pots!  It is washable paint though so I may have to rinse it out if we’re ever going to plant something in it.  With our previous three  pots, we could have ourselves a nice little herb garden!

After history club, we were exhausted!  I had planned to do a little more schoolwork, but instead I let them play outside and then we watched an IMAX Under the Sea video and called it a day.

Thursday we got just a little bit of our regular work done before we stopped to watch a virtual field trip from Ellis Island.  Then we went to Grandma and Poppa’s house.  Friday we didn’t even try to catch up, but worked until noon so the boys could spend a little time out with Daddy since he is working all day today and tomorrow.  Last night we went to a friend’s baptism.  And I can’t believe it’s Saturday again already!

What can I say about the schoolwork we did do?  Not much!  Besides the usual reading, writing, and math, we began our study of ancient Rome, and A studied echinoderms in science.  I’m not feeling particularly inspired by science lately, but C and D did read about whales with me.

Maybe next week we’ll have more to say!  It’s just nice to be back in our school routine and now we’re looking forward to a weekend spent listening our prophet and apostles during the LDS General Conference.  I’ll just close with some pictures of the boys in their Greek chitons.  (I took pictures of our Olympics, but won’t post other people’s children on my blog.)


3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2012 2:26 pm

    What great Greek activities! I actually kind of like the inside pot painting – fabulous colors. And I had to laugh out loud a bit there– we’re totally the family that shoves things in the bedrooms and then shut all the doors!

  2. April 1, 2012 6:55 pm

    Love seeing your boys in their Greek outfits! And yah, I do shove stuff in my room which is why it is so messy all the time! Sorry about the locked door thing—I can relate to stuff like that happening just as I need to be calm and on top of things!

  3. April 2, 2012 9:41 pm

    “please tell me that someone else out there takes piles of clutter and stacks them in their bedroom and shuts the door when they have guests over!”
    Guilty as charged!

    I love the chitons. My kids enjoy any dressing up too, even if it’s educational lol

Leave a Reply

