Skip to content

Another 1940 Census contest!

April 5, 2012

This contest is an easy one!  Hopefully you have already downloaded the Indexing software and completed a simulation batch.  Well, now it’s time for the real thing.  To enter this week’s indexing contest from The 1940 US Census Community Project, all you have to do is index one batch of the 1940 Census.  That’s it!  I’ve indexed from several states already and it’s going swimmingly.  It’s still a massive project though, and that’s why we need you!  (Picture Uncle Sam pointing right here)

3 easy steps:

  1. Register at the Games and Prizes page (if you haven’t already)
  2. Download the indexing software (again if you haven’t already)
  3. Complete at least one 1940 U.S. Census batch (there are quite a few states to choose from now) by Sunday, April 8 11:59 p.m. MST.

See the complete details on this week’s contest post.  One qualified entrant (and very lucky person I would say) will receive an Amazon Kindle Fire.  We’ll all be winners though when the index is completed.  (I found my paternal grandparents on Monday, but I’m having a tough time finding my other grandma and grandpa!)

Disclaimer: As part of the1940census.com ambassador program this blog post enters me into a drawing for a Yeti Microphone and two $50 Amazon gift cards.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 6, 2012 9:19 am

    My husband and I sat here and did a batch. You do need two people at times to help decipher some of the names. I really wish those census takers had printed the names rather than hand write them. Very interesting work. I am sure we will do another batch or so tonight.

Leave a Reply

