Skip to content

Living life instead of blogging about it

April 21, 2012

If only you could read the posts I thought about writing . . . I’ve thought about blogging quite a bit lately, but what I really need is a mind-reading-blog-writing tool.  Actually there is an audio option on wordpress to call in a post.  Wouldn’t that be hilarious? Let’s call the blog!  Except I don’t like to listen to my voice, especially right now during hay fever season.

Anyway . . .

I’ve had a lot of things to say but it’s been one of those weeks.

  • I have a concert tomorrow night and there are still a few spots in Brahms that I think I’ve only played maybe 3 times now (with the orchestra that is, I’ve played them many times by myself.)
  • Our Stake family history fair is also tomorrow and I’m teaching a class.  (Preparing a class for the same day I have a concert must have sounded like a good idea at one point.)  I’m also in charge of children’s activities.
  • We had four dentist appointments today.
  • I had another performance last Sunday afternoon.
  • We decided to rip up a lot of our bathroom plumbing in our 112-year-old house on Monday and just barely got the shower put back together tonight.

It would probably have been a good idea to cancel school this week, but I didn’t.  Needless to say, we didn’t accomplish too many things.  I’ll have to do a school update post soon.

The good news is the bathroom sink drains for the first time in over a year so we no longer have to brush our teeth in the kitchen, and hopefully I will no longer come out to the kitchen to see why E smells so very very minty fresh and find toothpaste all over himself and everything else at the kitchen sink.  He’s getting better and better at entertaining himself while we do school, which is not always a good thing.

The bad news? We’ve been without plumbing this week as do-it-yourself projects always take forever at this house.  I finally got to take a shower, a long hot shower, at my mother’s house yesterday.  It felt wonderful after sponge baths all week!  DH wasn’t sure if the laundry was safe to use all week either, so there is a virtual mountain of dirty clothes in my bathroom (that I need to squeeze into tomorrow between family history fair and concert) including two Sunday shirts with blood on them.  Somehow C’s tooth ran into D’s forehead at church last Sunday and broke the skin.  There’s nothing like making your little brother bleed!  It was kind of fitting.  This whole week’s been crazy.

But on a good note, I only have 12 states to go!

I made a goal to index a batch from each of the 50 states in the 1940 census.  A has been hard at work too.  He missed out on indexing Delaware before it was complete, but he has a map going for the other 49 states.  He’s indexed from about 10 states so far. I’d show the map to you, but the school table is covered in family history papers and a half-completed paper model of the Colosseum and I can’t find anything else on it.

And with that, I’m going to bed.  Tomorrow’s a busy day.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

