Skip to content

Lovely Sunday

June 12, 2012

We had a lovely Sunday.  Evidence:

The 11-year-old made a triple batch of chocolate chip cookies.

And who can resist a 2-year-old with chocolate smeared all over his face helping to peel potatoes?

Other things that made me smile:

  • I played my cello in church, and since DH was at work, got all 4 children plus myself up early, dressed, and to the church by 8:30 to practice with my accompanist–even after staying up too late because I had to wash my new dress again after brushing something off of it and getting grease on it instead because I unknowingly had some on my fingers from the meat dish I’d just put in the fridge.
  • I had a new dress!  (Mother’s Day gift from DH)
  • Our neighbors shared some of their really good and spicy meat from their family celebration with us.
  • The grease came out!
  • C wanted to know if playing Star Wars was appropriate on Sunday if his droid armies had church in his bedroom.
  • We had a good afternoon watching The Testaments together.
  • I was helping A index a 1940 census batch from Arkansas and laughed and laughed over a name I could have sworn was “Squirl.”  I finally realized the last (very tall) letter was really and “e” and the name was Squire.
  • Grandma and Poppa came to visit and we enjoyed cookies and milk together.
  • I played around with “My Source Box” on FamilySearch which keeps track of all your different sources which you can then add to people in your family tree with one click.
  • I found a person in the 1900 census that I didn’t have a record of until yesterday.
  • E convinced us to take a walk before bed and it wore him out so completely, he went right to bed and slept until about 9:00 this morning.
  • And the best thing?  DH came home 3 hours early (which almost made up for the fact that he put in a 77-hour work week last week!)

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tamaran permalink
    June 12, 2012 9:02 am

    I love your list–makes me smile too…as does the picture of E. Such cute boys!!

  2. June 12, 2012 11:33 am

    Ahhhh… It sounds lovely, indeed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

