Skip to content

Who wakes up with a head cold on the fourth of July?

July 10, 2012

Me, that’s who. Part head cold, part sinus infection, probably part allergies, and part breathing in all the ash and smoke from wildfires across the state.   What a miserable week it was.  I’ve been coughing for a couple weeks now, but Wednesday and Thursday were the worst.  My sinuses hurt, my head was congested, my whole body ached.  I don’t like hot weather to begin with, but it feels so wrong to be sick like this in the middle of summer.

Needless to say, our week’s plans kind of went up in smoke as well.  I did nothing productive other than drag myself out of bed in time to get the kids to swimming lessons every morning except for Wednesday.  Then we came home and did nothing, or rather, the boys played outside a lot and we watched a lot of movies: Wall-E, National Treasure 1 and 2, The Great Escape, a documentary about Roman shipwrecks, oh, and DH and I worked our way through eight episodes of Horatio Hornblower in the evenings.

Luckily we didn’t have any other big plans.  We were already planning to take it easy for the holiday since DH was home.  The boys got it in their heads that we were going to go see fireworks though.  They forget that the 24th of July is when we can just walk to Liberty Park for fireworks.  I don’t drive anywhere to see fireworks, even when I feel good.  Crowds of people and traffic are just not things I want to deal with.  Some neighbors across the street were having a party and setting off some pretty big fireworks though, so we joined our next door neighbors outside to watch.  E was enchanted, even though he clung to me because of the noise.  It was a nice little show, at least until another neighbor came down the street to yell at us for enjoying the fireworks.  They’re dangerous, and loud, and obnoxious, and probably illegal . . . She didn’t cross the street to yell at the people setting them off however, and I don’t think she knows the futility of trying to put children to sleep when they can hear fireworks going off in all directions around the neighborhood.

DH took Thursday off too, and had his usual Friday off as well, which was wonderful.  He took care of the boys all day and let me rest.

Today I woke up with energy (and no aches and pains) and was determined to make up for last week’s listlessness.  DH got the boys up early and went for a walk before breakfast.  We did scripture study right after breakfast and did some math for a change, then jobs and piano. I sent everybody outside at 10 a.m. to play and started cleaning out the music room.  There’s still a mountain of stuff to sort through besides all the piles still in the living room, but I made some progress and you can tell I made progress, even though we’re definitely in the “it gets worse before it gets better” stage.  I really hate deep cleaning; I am such a packrat.  But it has to be done, and looking at the weather forecast, I’m actually kind of glad to be inside this week.  100+ degrees?  Not my kind of weather.  And we still have to go dogwalking.  But at least we have a supply of popsicles and wow, who knew what a difference changing the air filter on the A/C would make?  I might survive July after all.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 10, 2012 4:19 pm

    I don’t know why I haven’t had my kids watch National Treasure. They want so badly to watch Indiana Jones movies but since they are PG-13 I haven’t let them. But National Treasure is PG and sort of similar to Indiana Jones. I think I need to get those on the Netflix queue.

    Horratio Hornblower is so good! Maybe those will be good to get out again too. We have watched a few really silly/boring things lately. Those are so exciting!

    I hope you are feeling better and staying inside sounds good right about now. It is over 100 degrees here. I am so happy to have AC!

Leave a Reply

