Skip to content

Fall Colors Show and Tell

October 6, 2012

Late Wednesday night I remembered I had promised the boys we’d go hiking this Thursday while we were at Grandma’s house.  I thought about putting it off for a couple weeks, but knew the boys would be sad and also realized the autumn colors are going fast in the canyons.  Ideally we’d have gotten up early, finished what little school work we had for the day and gotten on the road.   Things didn’t quite work out quite as intended and I was a little frazzled by the time we packed ourselves into the car.  But we made it with plenty of time to spare before my first cello student showed up and I’m so glad we went.

I rarely get out to see the fall leaves in the canyons at their peak.  I’m either too early and everything’s still mostly green, or I’m late and most of the leaves have fallen.  We were a little late, but still, it was a gorgeous drive.  The boys wanted to hike to the Grotto, but the thought of carrying E uphill, even for such a short hike, was not appealing (I knew he wouldn’t walk too far on his own) so we went to Maple Lake instead and “hiked” the trail around it.  It’s a small lake and the trail is basically flat, so I wouldn’t even say it was a hike at all.  It was a very pleasant walk and we were the only people up there.

And that’s all there is to Tell, so this is now Show (although the pictures never do the leaves justice.)

After Maple Lake, we kept driving to the top of the canyon.  Have you ever noticed that above 7000 feet or so, there are no more red and orange leaves?  Only evergreens and quaking aspens.  I love quakies!  I love their brilliant yellow color when the sun shines on them and their leaves ripple in the wind.  This picture doesn’t begin to  capture it, but it was beautiful up there!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2012 5:37 pm

    We are only just starting to see the season change here. I do enjoy the cooler temperatures and some of our trees change colors but nothing like they do up in the canyon there. It looks beautiful.

    Hiking is one of those things I keep thinking we need to do more of but never seem to fit into our schedule anymore. I always enjoy it when we do finally go on a hike. I really need to get more outside time into our schedule!

  2. Mama Rachel permalink
    October 6, 2012 10:28 pm

    Breathtaking! We’re still in the midst of hot weather here, and I forget how quickly Fall arrives in other places. What a blessing to get to see it up close! 🙂

Leave a Reply

