Skip to content

For Grandpa

October 17, 2012

We made a quick trip to Idaho on Saturday for Grandpa’s funeral.  I had dress rehearsal Friday night and didn’t want to leave after that and get there after midnight, so we got up early and drove up before lunch.  Nana, DH’s mom, is here visiting us from Ohio, so she came along.  We got there in record time due to DH’s speeding, but all went well.

Much was said of Grandpa’s love of classical music.  I always remember Grandpa listening to classical music and being interested in what I was learning to play myself.  He really fell in love with classical music during World War II when he was able to hear BBC broadcasts and attend concerts while stationed in London.  I was glad I was able to make it to his funeral and play my cello for him one last time.

After that was over, we turned right around and drove back to Salt Lake in time for my symphony concert (for which my stand partner was very grateful.)  All in all, an exhausting day, but worth it.

Grandpa’s hats and cane:

The boys:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2012 8:45 am

    I’m sorry for your loss. How wonderful you too shared a passion for music!

  2. Jessica Dahlquist permalink
    October 19, 2012 7:34 am

    Your boys look so handsome. So sorry for your family’s loss.

Leave a Reply

