Skip to content

Not all kids are lucky enough–

November 28, 2012

To get the day off from school and watch Star Wars for their birthday!  Yet another reason we like homeschool.  Today was D’s birthday!  (And I will ignore all of the other posts I’ve started recently but not yet finished and write something current for a change!)

8 Years Old!

8 years old and so much to be excited about: He’s an official cub scout now, he’ll be baptized on Saturday, and he got Star Wars legos for his birthday.  Life is good!

We let him decide what our day would look like.  He wanted to go miniature golfing so that was actually our activity last night.  We went out to Hollywood Connection in West Valley and played mini-golf, rode bumper cars and the merry-go-round, and roller skated.  (I’m still sore.)  D even tried roller skating this time.  Usually C and I are the only ones who like to skate.

Then today he wanted to watch Star Wars after breakfast, so that’s what we did.  Or that’s what they did.  I caught up on some email and reading and kept E occupied.  We had book club after lunch which he wanted to go to even though it was his birthday and somewhere in there I realized I needed to bake birthday cake and get it done before book club.

After book club we came home to make frosting and DH came home early to take A and C out to shop for a birthday present for their brother, then we all went to Five Guys for hamburgers and then to A’s scouts, which C and D usually go to as well since there are only two scouts in A’s group.  When they got home, D couldn’t wait any longer to open his presents, so we sat down to do that before finally eating birthday cake.

A word about the cake–D wanted a chocolate layer cake, which is our usual birthday fare, but wanted me to make the chocolate-frosted birthday cake which he had spied in my new cookbook.  When it was halfway mixed, I was wondering when it would call for cocoa and then I realized the cake itself was simply yellow cake, not chocolate.  I was worried he would be upset and I didn’t really have time to make another cake, but he said it was fine. I said I would put chocolate frosting on it anyway, but then he suggested yellow frosting because then, “It would look more like Tatooine and I could put my Star Wars figures on it.”  So instead of a chocolate layer cake, we got yellow cake with lemon frosting, droids, and storm troopers.  And because the recipe said to line the cake pans with parchment paper which wouldn’t stay put very well, the “round” cakes weren’t really, but D was still clearly pleased with the end result.

 

While legos are fun, I loved the look on his face when he opened new scriptures with his name engraved on them, which is our traditional 8th birthday gift.

May you always find joy in the scriptures and the truths contained therein.  Happy Birthday, D!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    November 28, 2012 6:43 am

    The photos were great–almost like being there. Looked and sounded like an awesome birthday. Lots of love from Grandma

  2. November 29, 2012 6:20 am

    Happy birthday!!!

  3. November 30, 2012 12:42 pm

    great birthday! The cake sounds yummy and looked great!

  4. November 30, 2012 1:07 pm

    Hi K! I have a question for you and was wondering if you could email me back when you have a quick moment? Thanks so much and I look forward to hearing back from you!

    – Carolyn
    carolynfallon3@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

