Skip to content

Plan B

February 11, 2013

Since writing the previous post, we have come to the conclusion that it is probably in our best interest to put our house up for sale.

As soon as possible.

I’m not thrilled.

The idea of living here with 4 boys, trying to homeschool, and having to keep the house ready to show on any given day ranks right up there with having my eyes gouged out.  So to minimize the chaos (not to mention make the house much more showable) we’ve decided to clean it out completely.  Everything save the bare essentials (couch, table, beds, piano, cello, school books, a minimal clothing supply, and a very few toys) is getting packed up in the next few weeks and going into a storage unit.  The less there is to mess up, the less mess we can make.

Somehow I think that should be more of my living philosophy on a daily basis, but then minimalism has never been my style.

So instead of schoolwork this week, we’ll be filling boxes and cleaning like crazy.  I guess that’s one way to remedy the February homeschool slump that seems to hit yearly.  What am I saying, we have hardly done enough schoolwork lately to even have a slump this year.  I was actually looking forward to doing school this week.  We’ll probably have to settle for scripture study and piano practice.

I really don’t want to do this.  I mean, I knew I would have to be packing up the house sooner or later, but it would just be so much more palatable if there was a nice new house on the other end, rather than just a storage unit.  In February.  In the snow.  And knowing that we’ll have to move all those boxes again once we do have a new house.

If I’m really lucky, the idea of moving it twice will help me get rid of all unnecessary clutter.  I can already feel that idea at work in my head!  But the fact that I really am a packrat is still staring me right in the face.  Living in the same house for almost 11 years hasn’t helped.  But tomorrow morning I get to confront it head on!

Wish me luck.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    February 11, 2013 12:34 am

    Good luck–you can do it! It may not be the most ideal scenario, but there will still be a nice new house on the other end eventually, so remember that and visualize your future home to help motivate you through the sorting and packing. I wish I could come help!

  2. Tamaran permalink
    February 11, 2013 8:26 am

    I was wondering what the plan was. I see you guys across the chapel, but with our callings, I only get a chance to talk to you once in a while. We’re taking dinner to Nicole’s on Wednesday and I’m helping her clean while the kids play. We used to do this a lot when Jon was in school last semester (kills a night that we would spend home alone–I hate nights w/o Jon at the house). Anyway, let me know if you would be interested in the same deal. We are available Thursday (which is Valentine’s and if you have plans that is OK) or next week Wednesday or Thursday. I know one of those days is Stake Temple Night, but I don’t remember which. I’m just trying to make it through a week at a time…

  3. February 11, 2013 8:45 am

    Have you ever thought of adding on to your current home?

    I feel your pain! It is not fun to have a house on the market. Two years to sell our house. And now almost two years later we have moved four times! We have sold two of those rentals for friends (which meant I had to show them) and now our current rental goes on the market in March. I am not sure I can do it anymore! We can’t find a house to buy that works or feels right either.

    I think it is a great idea though to just put everything in storage except what you absolutely need. It will help make the process less painful! 🙂 I have to start packing up again too. I pray we will both have some closure to this housing dilemma very soon!

    Have a good week! Just think you may come across some things you had lost! Some treasures under the fridge or stove :).

    Judi 🙂

  4. Anonymous permalink
    February 11, 2013 11:50 am

    Good luck with plan B. I wish I were close enough to really help you out. It should help to finally have a plan even if it rates close to gouging your eyes out, which did make me laugh. Laughs are always good. Love, Grandma

Leave a Reply

