Skip to content

Books read in 2012

February 25, 2013

What better time than the end of February 2013 to look over my list of books read in 2012?

I knew joining the “52 books in 52 weeks” group was probably a bad idea, but some years I at least come close!  This year, or rather, last year (this being 2013 and all) the total book count was 28.  And at least half of those were books read with the boys or listened to as audiobooks with the boys.  So technically I read 13 books on my own, and a bunch were kind of fluffy, but all (both alone or with the boys) were new to me save The Hobbit and The Railway Children.  My favorites are in bold and maybe one of these days I’ll write more about them.

  1. Troubled Waters by Dean Hughes 1/7 (Hearts of the Children vol. 2–continuation of the WWII series Children of the Promise that I read in 2011)
  2. How Many Roads?  by Dean Hughes (vol. 3) 1/9
  3. Take Me Home  by Dean Hughes (vol. 4) 1/11
  4. So Much of Life Ahead by Dean Hughes (vol. 5) 1/13
  5. In the heart of the sea : the tragedy of the whaleship Essex by Nathaniel Philbrick 2/24
  6. Daughters in My Kingdom
  7. Her Royal Spyness by Rhys Bowen
  8. God So Loved the World by Eric D. Huntsman
  9. The Killer Angels by Michael Shaara 8/8
  10. Stand Firm, Ye Boys From Maine by Thomas A. Desjardin 9/1
  11. Evidence: Citation & Analysis for the Family Historian by Elizabeth Shown Mills
  12. Midnight in Austenland by Shannon Hale 3/3
  13. Princess Academy 2 by Shannon Hale 10/17
  14. The Railway Children by Edith Nesbit 2/22 (audiobook with the boys)
  15. The Invention of Hugo Cabret (for boys’ bookclub and so we could see the movie) 2/13
  16. The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle by Hugh Lofting (audiobook with the boys)
  17. Black Beauty by Anna Sewell (audiobook with the boys)
  18. Winnie the Pooh by A. A. Milne (audiobook with the boys)
  19. Mary Poppins by P. L. Travers (audiobook with the boys)
  20. King of the Wind by Marguerite Henry (audiobook with the boys)
  21. Misty of Chincoteague by Marguerite Henry (audiobook with the boys)
  22. Freddie and the Dragon by Walter Brooks (audiobook with the boys)
  23. Chitty Chitty Bang Bang by Ian Fleming (audiobook with the boys)
  24. The Call of the Wild by Jack London (audiobook with the boys)
  25. The Seven Wonders of Sassafras Springs by Betty G. Birney (audiobook with the boys)
  26. The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien (read aloud with the boys)
  27. The Lord God Made Them All by James Herriot (audiobook with the boys)
  28. The Bronze Bow by Elizabeth George Speare (to discuss with A for school, except we never really discussed it)

I see the same trend continuing in 2013 as it’s the end of February already and I’ve made it through three books only, and two were audio.  With regards to reading, and many more leisurely pursuits I want to engage in, I just keep saying, “As soon as we move!”

I must say that I would have read more last spring had the 1940 census not been released in April.  I was rather obsessed with indexing it in all my spare moments for several months.  Total: over 9700 names indexed, and 13,700 arbitrated.  Those numbers are much more impressive!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Linda J. permalink
    March 1, 2013 8:19 am

    I just ordered the Essex book, purely because you recommended it, and I’ve always liked your recommendations!

    Hope the decluttering/cleaning/moving thing is going okay.

Leave a Reply

