Skip to content

“Fly away, Stanley, be free!” **

March 10, 2013

One idea I see repeated over and over again in Flylady’s emails and website is that we need to let go of our clutter, particularly the things that we no longer need or love, so it can bless someone else’s life.  Let it go free!

It is so freeing to get rid of stuff.  I love that feeling of letting it fly away out of my house, but I’m not terribly good at it.  I’m almost embarrassed to share this, but I have filled up at least 18 boxes to go to DI in the last few weeks!  Clothes we never wear, books we never read, toys we don’t play with, movies we never watch, music we never listen to–it’s ridiculous the amount of stuff we have been holding onto.  For years!  And I’m not done yet!

I should have kept track of all the wacky things I’ve held on to over the years, but then again I don’t think I’d like to see it all in writing.  I had to take a picture of these though:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

17 years since I graduated from BYU and I’ve never once had the desire to sit down and analyze music again.  So these are finally on the way out.  (If anyone really wants them though, let me know; they haven’t actually left the house yet.)

Just when I thought I had all the clothing in the house accounted for and packed or given away, C found another box entirely full of clothes size 18 months to 2T.  I’m pretty sure E never wore any of them, which means that box hadn’t been opened since 2006.  I always thought we were missing a few outfits when E was that size, but apparently we had more than enough to keep him clothed.  I went through the box, saved a couple of shirts, and put everything else back in the box, destined for DI.

I have a box of costumes too that I’m passing on to a friend with three little boys who love to dress up.  I inherited them from my brothers who never got above a size 7 or 8 even when they were 19 and 21 years old.  E is the only child left who can still fit in any of them, and he doesn’t like to dress up, so they’re flying free of our house too.

E doesn’t really even like to get dressed many days, or once he’s dressed, he doesn’t want to put pajamas on at night.  If we let him wear his shirt under his pjs, we can usually coax him to take off his pants at least.  Some days I just give up though, I figure he’s warm enough in his blanket sleeper and can just wear it all day.  It’s hard to tell in this  picture, but he just put his boots on over his pajamas so he could join his brothers outside.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was such a beautiful day yesterday.  A went with the young men in the ward to go tubing up at Soldier Hollow, and the other three played outside most of the afternoon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

B had to work until 6:00, and by 5:00, we were all itching to get out of the house and do something fun for a change, so I called him and suggested going out for pizza for dinner.  Of course by the time he came home, changed his clothes, and we got out to the Pizza Factory, it was a 45 minute wait for dinner.  DH didn’t want to wait, so we tried another pizza place we’ve had our eye on.  No go, 30-40 minute wait there.  If we ever go out, it’s for lunch, or an early dinner on DH’s day off, so we have forgotten what Saturday night dinner crowds can be.  We finally headed to the Nauvoo Cafe for sandwiches with no wait.  E had the wiggles, and didn’t want to sit still, so we ended up roaming around the Joseph Smith building while the others finished eating.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When he finally got strapped into his carseat to go home, then he was interested in his ham sandwich we’d saved for him.

My mom asked if when she came over, it would look like hardly anybody lived here.  Ummmm, no, it still definitely looks like people live here.  How long does it take to pack up a house?   I can see the end in sight, and so far I haven’t resorted to throwing clutter in boxes to sort through later, but we’ve still got some work ahead of us.  Back at it in the morning…

******************************************

** I can quote way too many Pixar movies.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The boys with Stanley
California Adventure Park, January 2013

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    March 11, 2013 2:38 pm

    We got rid of so much before our move last summer, too… make sure you get receipts for your donations to DI (& fill out the date & items donated while it’s fresh on your mind)–it will help you on your tax deductions next year! 🙂

  2. Anonymous permalink
    March 11, 2013 7:46 pm

    What about all the boxes of stuff (including the Barbie Dream house) that have been camping (rent free) at your parent’s home since you moved out in 1997? We’d let them fly away too.but none are named Stanley!!

    You can figure out who posted this….

  3. MissMOE permalink
    March 12, 2013 11:53 pm

    That’s why we move at least every five years–so we can sort through every last thing we own. Oh the joy of moving!

  4. Emily S. permalink
    March 23, 2013 10:14 pm

    I recognize those music books! I don’t have them any more… but I do have some my Music Theory book, the red one, and a few books about piano repertoire, and my orchestration books. I wish I had my sight singing book! I’m teaching my kids sight singing this year, and sure wish I could use that.

Leave a Reply

