Skip to content

Loving weekends!

April 13, 2013

Wow, I’m loving my weekends lately!

Having DH home all weekend long is such a huge change for us!  I can’t even remember the last time he wasn’t working at least six hours every Saturday and usually twelve, plus either Friday night or a few hours on Sunday.  I used to dread some weekends without him home.  Now he’s off for three entire days.  Too bad he had to tear his shoulder to get to spend some weekend time with the family!

He finally has surgery scheduled for next Thursday.  It’s only been 2 1/2 months since he injured it!  And he has to have it done in Park City rather than here or else it would have been another two weeks. I just looked back to the post where we were waiting to hear from the surgeon.  It was written March 21!  Got to love five extra layers of bureaucracy to get anything authorized and scheduled since it all has to go through the injury on the job people. But since it did happen at work, work is paying for it, so I really can’t complain.   One of his coworkers had a similar surgery and DH told me that he’d been told to plan on staying home from work for 2-7 days after surgery.  On Friday he clarified that for me–it could be 2-7 weeks until he’s ready to go back to work.  So we’ll have lots of time together (not just the weekends) coming up.  What a change!

The first weekend he was home, I was at Rootstech.  So I didn’t notice the change.  The next weekend he had some doctor’s appointments and other errands, and had to take care of our rental house that had a break-in.  But we went to the symphony together with the boys and he didn’t have to leave early to get to work at noon!  And I found time to go get a (semi-bad) haircut.  (It’s just a little shorter than I had intended and a little choppy.  But my hair grows fast so it’s all good.)  It was really nice to be together for Easter Sunday.

Last weekend was General Conference and it was the first time in probably a decade he hasn’t had to work Conference weekend. Because the boys had a piano recital after the Saturday afternoon session, we drove to Grandma and Poppa’s house and spent the entire weekend there with them.  It was so wonderful.  Technically DH didn’t watch conference with us.  He listened while he laid on the bed because his shoulder was in a lot of pain.

This weekend we’ve been spending every minute getting as much done as possible on the house before the surgery.  I’m almost to the point where I feel maybe we can list it for sale and hopefully move even with DH recuperating.  Almost.  Maybe.

We moved two more bookcases and some end tables into storage and I think that’s the last of the furniture to go into storage.  Yesterday the boys helped DH clean out most of his remaining piles of clutter and (dare I say it?) junk that remained in the other bedroom when we switched rooms with the boys a few weeks ago.  I can actually get to almost every wall in the house that needs to be washed now.  Today I spent quite a while driving DH around as he has a splint on his right arm to immobilize his elbow and wrist which, while they don’t need surgery, have some issues that need to heal.  Why that couldn’t wait until Thursday, I don’t know.  But DH didn’t want to try to drive one-handed, and it was kind of fun being the chauffeur.  We drove out to Holladay this morning to buy a recliner listed on craig’s list.  DH was told that a recliner will be the most comfortable place to sleep for the first six weeks.

Since we were already out, we stocked up on the food on our Sam’s Club list.  I still need to plan a menu for the next two weeks and do the rest of my grocery shopping so I’ll know exactly what we’re eating.  Our lives seem to flow so much smoother when I menu plan, but I’ve been really bad about that later.  This would be an excellent time to begin again!  We also spent more time cleaning up the bedrooms and getting caught up on laundry.  I also cleaned the entryway out so it’s not such a disaster area when you walk in the front door.

Then we made two trips to the storage unit and DI to get rid of more stuff, and to find the box of summer clothes I’d already stored as I’m absolutely certain we won’t be out of this house before shorts and t-shirt weather is upon us for good.  I was hoping to find the box with math books in it too as A and D have both recently completed their Singapore books and need the next one.  No such luck on that errand though.  I may have to go back to the storage unit some day without DH and see what I can find.  He didn’t want me poking around and having to move a ton of boxes today.  And Life of Fred is working for math for now anyway.  (I really ought to write up a school report for a change!)

It feels so good to see so much progress made in just a couple days.  I always wondered what it would be like if DH didn’t work quite so much.  I really like it!  Of course after surgery, I have no doubt that our current productivity rate will go back down.  But it will be so nice to spend a lot of time together.  We just haven’t had a lot of that the last few years.

Now to just get through Thursday!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jessica Dahlquist permalink
    April 17, 2013 8:05 pm

    Hope the surgery goes well and he’ll be feeling well enough to just enjoy the time off with the family:)

Leave a Reply

