Skip to content

Update on us

July 22, 2013

Just one of those journal-y posts so I don’t forget things . . .

A had to have a physical last week before scout camp.  The doctor said it was so great to see a kid in no danger of obesity!  (I don’t think any of my kids will ever be described as obese!)  There is a maximum weight requirement for scouts, but no minimum.  Thank goodness, because A is somewhere around the 5th percentile for weight.  He needs to eat more, the doctor says.  He is eating more.  He’s eating a lot more.  In fact it’s nearly impossible to keep him satisfied with food.

I can hardly wait until three of them are teenagers all at once.

It’s been especially difficult to feed him lately as getting food on the table every day is my great trial in life right now.  Nothing sounds appetizing to me.  Nothing tastes good to me.  Much of what I’d like to eat won’t stay down anyway and just coming up with the energy to climb out of bed, let alone cook dinner, takes a lot out of me at the moment.   Still.

So I told A he has free reign of the kitchen.  If he can find it, he can eat it.  We also decided he needs to exercise more and that will increase his appetite.  So he and his brothers decided they will get up early and bike around the block 3-4 times before breakfast, and again before bed.  So far they’ve been very consistent and it doesn’t require a single thing from me.

Usually E is still asleep when they leave in the morning.  But the first evening they went out, E was seriously going to chase them around the block on foot.  He was so upset that he couldn’t go too.  “I go on one walk!” he screamed at me.  I had to explain that in the extreme heat we’ve been having plus the way I’ve been feeling, there was just no way I could take him for a walk and he couldn’t go alone.  Eventually he calmed down and D (who didn’t go that night) took him outside in the shade with a blanket to wait for A and C to go around.  Poor kid, he hasn’t had a lot of fun out of the house lately.

DH has been working a ton of extra hours lately.  The week before last he would come home for dinner and then have to go back in to work.  Then last week we didn’t even get him for dinnertime.  He was gone until 10 p.m. or after every night as the big huge building project he’s been working on for the past two years was finally completed.  We got to go eat dinner and get the first peek at the building last Wednesday for employee night. Maybe his life will slow down a little bit now and the boys will get their Daddy back.

And I’ve learned my lesson: Count your Zofran pills before the weekend so you don’t run out.  Apparently they have been making more of a difference than I thought because I’ve felt just horrible the past few days as I opted to take one a day rather than run out completely before I could call my doctor for a refill this morning.  I also got my payment information from my doctor for this baby. Apparently having babies has gotten a lot more expensive than I remember it being four years ago.

Thank goodness for our Health Savings Account.

HSA came in handy for C a few weeks ago too, but there’s a story for another day!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 30, 2013 6:43 am

    Congrats on the new pregnancy. Zofran was a life saver for me for two of my pregnancies. Never leave home without it.

Leave a Reply

