Skip to content

Happy Pioneer Day!

July 24, 2013

In Utah, this is a big holiday!  July 24th commemorates the Mormon pioneers entering the Salt Lake valley for the first time in 1847.

For several years now I’ve been saying we have to go to the parade because it will probably be our last chance before we move out of downtown.  But here we still are.  I am really hopeful that this will be our last time though and even though I slept in, we made it the two blocks to the parade route and didn’t miss much.  It completely wore me out though and I think I’ll pass on walking to Liberty Park for the fireworks tonight.  Dh and the boys are getting ready to go down.

I was really glad it cooled off today after the 100+ temperatures we’ve had lately.  We found a fairly cool shady spot under a tree and enjoyed the parade.  
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The boys loved this 1853 fire engine:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And all of the old cars, especially this 1924 Dodge where I think the driver was as old as his car:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There were some really amazing floats this year; in fact, I hardly took pictures of anything else (including the boys, oops!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Polynesian Cultural Center (which is 50 years old this year) had a spectacular float with lots of music and dancers following. I think it was my favorite.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This one was funny because of the children whose heads were the center of some of the flowers.  I wonder what it would be like to ride in a float with nothing but your head sticking out!OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We especially enjoyed waving to President Uchtdorf, 2nd counselor in the LDS church presidency, and hearing the lone bagpipe band play “Scotland, the Brave.”  Although our Scottish ancestors came to America earlier than most of our other “early American” ancestors, we feel very Scottish at heart and C especially loves the bagpipes.
I have more than a few ancestors on my mother’s side that crossed the plains to Utah either in wagon trains or handcart companies, but I’ve never known very many of their stories.  Perhaps I should remedy that one of these days, although I certainly appreciate the chance each July to remember and honor the sacrifices they made for their faith.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2013 6:30 am

    I remember decorating my bike for the bike parade as a kid for pioneer day! And, the dresses! It was always a good time. I’m glad you had fun!

  2. July 25, 2013 9:48 pm

    I have never heard of that holiday before. Thanks for the explanation, and happy Pioneer day to you too!

Leave a Reply

