Skip to content

Week 5

September 21, 2013

Monday went well . . .

I should learn not to say, “If one more thing goes wrong . . .” because it usually will!

So let’s see, aside from school work I was dealing with the worst hay fever this season.  I’ve been saying that for weeks, but I take it all back.  This week was THE WORST.  Even A, who almost never gets hay fever, went through a half box of Kleenex with his runny nose and sneezing before I took over.  E was having a fit on Wednesday over not getting to watch one more movie and rammed his head right into my mouth.  He came away with blood all over his forehead which I realized was coming from my lip, which is still fat and hurts.  I threw up again one night (stupid “morning” sickness) and to top it all off discovered head lice on the boys and have spent the past several days checking for more nits in their hair.  So fun!!!

At least the live bugs are gone and nits can’t be passed around, they just have to be combed out which is a real pain.  And I just have to make sure we don’t miss any eggs that could still hatch into bugs.  At least we know why D’s head has been so incredibly itchy the past several weeks.  And now I know what to be on the lookout for if he starts scratching it again.  Honestly, head lice has never even been on my radar before.  It sure is now!

So, school . . .

Monday really did go well.  A and C both took their Latin quizzes and only missed two each, out of about 40+ answers.  A moved on to lesson 3 in Second Form and C moved on to lesson 2 in First Form (which is where I still am so I should really pick it up again and continue on at his pace.  I think I could handle that.)  It’s a real challenge for C, but he’s getting it and doing well.

Tuesday morning was history club and we had a very hard time concentrating on any written work of our own after we came home.  Wednesday was the same; it was like we forgot how to spend the morning working efficiently.  And that was the day I could hardly breathe and it was just not a good day all around!  Thursday and Friday are our light days anyway, so this week was rather a bust as far as the workload went.  We did have a few highlights however:

Science: We learned about electrons and practiced filling in orbitals with the correct number of electrons (fuzzy balls) for different elements.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Math: D worked on measurements in yards, feet, and inches.  C relearned how to times a number by 10, 100, and 1000, and learned how to estimate.  A worked on finding the circumference and area of a circle, although I think we need some lessons in reading and following directions carefully as he has an entire page to redo this next week because he figured out the circumference rather than the area.  As I recall, that was not the first time this week we needed those lessons!

Literature: We finished listening to Peter Pan in the car, A finished Man of La Mancha, C finished Don Quixote, and D began reading The Water Horse.

English: A and I analyzed verb tenses in The Gettysburg Address.  I really love his grammar book!  Writing was nonexistent this week though and D had a meltdown over spelling when he couldn’t figure out which vowel is used in the word “spell” (isn’t that ironic?)

History was all about the Mayflower and Plymouth Plantation this week, although I still have tons left to read and write for next week.  We started reading Philbrick’s The Mayflower and the Pilgrims’ New World together and the boys completed mapwork.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and read a few extra books about Canada and Henry Hudson as well.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA We ditched art and music on Friday in favor of watching Desperate Crossing while I gave them all (rather bad) haircuts.

And for preschool we finally finished the letter C by making a Caterpillar (which also covered Colors and Counting) and Cookies, of course!

IMG_0703

IMG_0709-001

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Rolling out the cookie balls:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Enjoying peanut butter cookies!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Jamestown Fort that the boys showed off at history club:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I sure hope next week will be nice and calm!

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2013 5:57 am

    Your Jamestown forts, look great. Where did you get them from? I see in your side bar you are breaking the boy trend with the next child, a little girl congratulations!

  2. September 22, 2013 7:30 am

    Looks like a very good week. We really enjoyed Peter Pan (probably one of my daughter’s favorites) and I keep planning to get to The Water Horse! Love the forts — the did a great job on them!

  3. September 22, 2013 8:57 am

    I love studying colonial times. We took a trip to see Plimoth Plantation and the Mayflower II last summer. It was so fun!

  4. September 22, 2013 1:47 pm

    I remember when mine built the fort! Looks like you guys had a very full week with ALOT going on!

  5. September 22, 2013 7:33 pm

    Aside from all the school stuff, that’s quite a load to deal with in one week! But it sounds like you’re dealing with everything gracefully! {{Hugs}}

Leave a Reply

