Skip to content

Devil’s Kitchen

November 6, 2013

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve taken more pictures in the last three weeks than I have in the previous four months!  We drove the Mt. Nebo Scenic Loop a few weeks ago.  Most of the fall colors were gone and we even saw snow up at 9000 feet, but it was so nice to get out in the fresh air. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Obviously it was too sunny for the boys!  But it’s a great view down into Utah Valley from the top of Payson canyon.  Mt. Nebo is the highest mountain in Utah.  The boys didn’t care about that!  What they really wanted was to do was hike.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This pregnant body doesn’t do hikes at the moment, but I remembered a short .10 mile flat paved trail to Devil’s Kitchen that I thought I could manage, although I seriously underestimated just how many miles up the canyon it was.  
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Every time we drove by a snowbank, E would say, “It’s winter out my window!”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Finally we made it to Devil’s Kitchen which is a geologic feature like a mini-Bryce Canyon.  There are a few hoodoo rock formations just sitting out there among the forest trees.   
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was a great day and a great way to get outside!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2013 2:39 pm

    Looks like a fun day! I love the “winter out my window” comment. So sweet.

  2. November 11, 2013 10:44 am

    Lovely photos! Beautiful scenery. It makes me want to take my children out on a hike. 🙂

Leave a Reply

