Skip to content

A brief biography

November 20, 2013

I was asked to write a short bio for my symphony’s program a few weeks ago.  Every concert, four musicians are spotlighted so we can get to know each other and see the many different walks of life our fellow musicians come from.  Eventually it will be added to our symphony’s website as well (to remain forevermore!)  But it’s not on the website yet and a few people have asked to read it, including my mother, so I’ll share it here.

DH read it and said, “You left out a lot of details.”  Well, yes, DH!  I was trying to write my life story in 400 words or less and I gave up good practice time trying to do it, so it is what it is.  I guess it’s a snapshot of how I see things at this point in time.  I think I included the most important things. If you want to know any missing details, just ask!

*****************************************************

Music has always been a passion and a blessing in my life, although my first dream was to be a ballerina.  Growing up in Insert name of small town, Utah, the daughter of a choral conductor and a violinist, I was always surrounded by great music (but it took years to share in my dad’s love of opera.)  He tried to teach me piano at age 4, but it didn’t stick. I started ballet in 3rd grade and cello in 5th.  By 9th grade I realized I couldn’t do both and music won out.  In high school I spent more time singing in my dad’s choirs than practicing my cello, but ended up at BYU majoring in Cello Performance/Pedagogy, a student of Roger Drinkall. That kind of surprised me as I don’t consider myself a soloist and knew I wasn’t destined to be a professional musician, but it was where I was supposed to be and I treasure the musical experiences I had there, particularly the annual choral/orchestra collaborations and recording Robert Cundick’s oratorio, Redeemer. After graduation, I worked with special ed students, played with several community orchestras, and got married. In 1999 we moved to Salt Lake City and started a family.

These days I’m focused on stay-at-home-motherhood to our four boys ages 12, 10, 8, and 3.  The oldest three play piano but want to learn the organ, trumpet, bagpipes, and maybe the cello.  No family string quartet here! I homeschool them all and love helping them discover and develop their talents and interests. I am inspired by my parents’ example. They always took time to support me in nurturing my talents even as they were heavily occupied with caring for my four siblings, who all had multiple handicaps and have since passed away.

In my spare (?) time, I teach a few private students and carve out practice time where I can. I love the commitment to making great music I’ve shared with ____ Symphony members the past ten years.  One of the highlights of my life was playing Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony in 2012.

My other big passion is family history research, specifically on a family line that goes back to Maine in the 1750s.  I’ve never met a cemetery I didn’t like and also love old maps, mint chocolate, Agatha Christie mysteries, and logic puzzles. I’m looking forward to my next adventure–giving birth to our first daughter in February.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tamaran permalink
    November 20, 2013 8:35 am

    I think you did a great job for trying to squish it down that much. Thanks for posting it!

  2. November 20, 2013 9:26 am

    I love it! Now I feel like I know you better, too! (I adore Agatha Christie novels! Who do you like better: Poirot or Miss Marple? I’m forever torn! ;-D)

    Hugs,
    Rachel

  3. Anonymous permalink
    November 20, 2013 12:14 pm

    Thank you, daughter. I’m glad I looked today. Maybe I should see if I could write such a concise bio.

Leave a Reply

