Skip to content

Thirteen!!!

December 4, 2013

This is a repost of some of my feelings about motherhood three years ago when my oldest turned ten with a few added thoughts now that he has just turned thirteen.

*****************************

All I ever really wanted to be was a mother.

Age 1

Although I had little idea what that entailed when we brought our firstborn son home that cold December day.

2nd birthday

It was hard.  I didn’t know I could feel so exhausted.

We spent many a sleepless night staring at the Christmas tree lights,

crying.

age 3

I didn’t feel like I’d ever know what I was doing.

age 5

All I knew was that I loved this tiny little person so much

and hoped he’d forgive me for all of my mistakes.

age 6

Ten, no, thirteen years later, I’m so thankful I chose this life.

age 7

This child.

age 8

All I ever wanted to be was a mother.

Now I know why.

There’s an indescribable joy in watching the child you helped create grow into such an incredible person before your very eyes.

A is an amazing person, an awesome big brother.

He is eager to learn, quick to understand.

I am often in awe of him.

I can’t believe it’s been a decade.

*****************************

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

age 11

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

age 12

And now it’s been 13 years!

He’s a teenager!***

IMG_0737

I continue to be amazed as I watch the young man he is growing up to be.

His musical abilities are greatly expanding.

His thirst for knowledge and capacity for learning have multiplied.

And oh, the joy I’ve felt as I’ve watched him become

a faithful holder of the priesthood of God.

I’m so grateful to be his mother!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Happy Birthday, A!

***My friend Rachel wrote a blog post about the difference between teenagers and young adults.  I think my goal will be to raise young adults rather than teenagers.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2013 7:36 pm

    What a handsome young man. Happy Birthday!

  2. December 5, 2013 9:37 am

    the days go so slow but those years are so darned fast

Leave a Reply

