Skip to content

Thursday ramblings

January 17, 2014

I’ve heard it said that rather than three 13-week trimesters, pregnancy is actually composed of two semesters: The first lasts for 37 weeks and the second for three.  The second semester is the longest.

I think it’s true.  I feel like this week is dragging by so slowly.  It’s almost the weekend again though, and then I’ll be 38 weeks along.  I’m 80% effaced and just playing the waiting game at this point.  My doctor said any day would be great to have a baby, except for Saturday night.  He thinks his wife is throwing him a surprise birthday party.  She didn’t say that, but she did tell him not to induce anybody that day, ok?  So now I’m paranoid I’ll go into labor Saturday night.  I’m supposed to teach sharing time in Primary on Sunday morning, so that wouldn’t be good timing either.  I’m not sure what I was thinking when I told our secretary, “Sure, I can trade weeks with you!”  Any time after that though and we’d be thrilled to welcome this little girl!

I’m getting bored with life otherwise.  I’m ready for a change, so let’s get on with it!

I didn’t teach cello students today.  I had told them maybe I’d come this week, but I’m to the point I don’t want to be sixty miles from home and the hospital just in case.  So I didn’t go.  Of course I’ve hardly had a contraction all day, but I’ve been feeling sore enough that I really didn’t want to sit and teach six students after a long drive.

It was a long day at home though.  And the boys made it even longer.  We have a minimal amount of schoolwork scheduled on Thursdays but if we don’t go to Grandma and Poppa’s house, they have a way of dragging their feet and taking a lot more time to get things done.  At least while they did that, I got dinner in the crockpot.  I also made brownies and sewed another flannel blanket tonight.

We did spend some good time after lunch reading Revolutionary War books both together and independently before I sent them all outside to play.  We read Longfellow’s “Paul Revere’s Ride.”   I had A read the “how to read history” section in Susan Wise Bauer’s The Well-Educated Mind before beginning McCullough’s 1776.  C’s already read most of the picture books I got at the library last week and D has suddenly blossomed as a reader.  He’s about 150 pages into The Fellowship of the Ring and will read almost anything I put in front of him for history which has sure saved my voice lately.  All the congestion I had with my head cold a few weeks ago has mostly moved down into my throat, but at least I’m sleeping better at night now.

But now A has the cold.  I’m just hoping C and D don’t get it.  Again.  I think they both had it before Christmas but I really can’t remember.  I know they didn’t have it as horribly as A does now.  He sounds just awful!  Just what we need when we’ll be bringing a baby home.  It’s time to stock up on Purell again and be fanatical about hand washing like we were when E came home as a newborn.  He never got sick even though it was the middle of cold and flu season.  Hopefully we’ll be as lucky this time around.

And people say the weirdest things.  I’ve been asked twice in the past week if this is my first.  I’ve had to laugh and say, well, it is my first girl, but my fifth baby.  One went on to ask how old my oldest was.  When I said A was 13, she said, “Oh, if he’d only been a girl, he’d be such a big help right now.”  ???  I don’t know how she raises her children, but I’m raising all of my children to be big helpers–boys, girls, it doesn’t matter.  A has been a tremendous help the past eight months especially, and I’m sure will continue to be so.

Then there was that someone who told me it’s been so good to see me gain weight . . .

Not sure how I was supposed to take that little comment!  I guess I was too thin for her.  I could have said I’ve actually lost a pound in the last week.  Of course I gained seven in the four weeks before that so my doctor’s still thrilled.  A pound a week, that’s all he asks!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tamaran permalink
    January 17, 2014 8:43 am

    I’m laughing a TON that someone actually said that it is good to see you gain weight. SO FUNNY! Soon you’ll start getting the ‘you still haven’t had that baby yet?’ comments that are so common in our ward. It takes everything I have to smile. And I completely agree with boys and girls can both be helpers. I think we do our boys (and their future wives) a disservice when we expect less.

    What are your plans if you go into labor in the middle of the night? Do you have someone to call to come over? I’m available. I always wake up between 1 and 3 anyway for a morning sickness / potty break (not sure which one wakes me up–but it happens every single night and it always takes me at least an hour to get back to sleep).

  2. Tamaran permalink
    January 17, 2014 8:44 am

    And then I just realized with A being as old as he is, you may not need someone as long as he has a cell phone. Goodness your boys are growing up!

Leave a Reply

