Skip to content

2 weeks already?!

February 6, 2014

My how time is flying!  This girl is a snuggler, and even with four brothers who are constantly wanting to hold her, it still feels like my arms are always full of baby and not much else these days.  Luckily I don’t have any other big plans or high expectations at the moment.  We’re simply trying to get through each day.

Using initials on the blog for this baby is problematic because I already have an A, the 13-year-old A, so maybe we’ll just call her Little Missy as that seems to be our favorite nickname for her at the moment.

So Little Missy (LM)  is two weeks old!  We went to the doctor again yesterday (we were there last week for a jaundice checkup) and she’s back up to her birth weight of 6 lbs 3 oz, after dipping down to 5 lbs 14 oz last week.  The nurse said she was 20 inches long, but I think LM had slid down the ruler a bit.  The nurse was in a hurry to weigh and measure her because LM was exceedingly ornery and screaming after having had her heel pricked for the newborn screening bloodtest.  I was glad DH was there with me to hold her through that.

Can I just say the boys absolutely adore their little sister?  They’re forever taking pictures of her.  My camera is filled with pictures of her propped up on pillows and in the boys’ arms.  They’re pretty good about sharing; we’ve only had a few arguments over “It’s my turn to hold her!”  She gets passed around a lot, but she doesn’t seem to mind.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

She especially likes to snuggle up on C’s chest.  She likes to suck too–he was holding her the other day and suddenly said, “Aggghh!  She’s sucking on my sleeve.  It’s all wet!”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

E has been so good with her.  He’s fascinated by everything she does.  The first day I sat down to feed her, he ran and got a jar of baby food I had from one of my baby showers.  I had to explain that she can’t eat food yet.  “Then what does she eat?”  he wanted to know.  I told him she only eats milk right now.  He had to correct me.  “You driiiiiink milk. You don’t eat it,” he said.  He still gets confused if I mention the baby needs to “eat.”

He likes to point out all her little body parts, and also wanted to know if she had a penis . . .

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
He’s very excited that I got my lap back.  (Or ‘wap’ as he calls it.)  I’m glad to have my wap back too.  I’ve got other issues I’m dealing with, but I’ll save those for another post.

Her only other issue appears to be some clogged tear ducts, just like E had.  We’re just hoping hers won’t take eight months to clear up.  We seem to have made it through the boys’ sicknesses unscathed, which is probably a miracle, because I’ve been a lot less fanatic about hand washing than I probably could have been.

Our pediatrician told us that when he and his wife brought their last child home, they created a clean room environment that the baby stayed in.  He didn’t leave that room and none of the other children could go in without face masks and hand sanitizer, and if they’d been anywhere like soccer practice, or to church around other children, they had to change their clothes before they could go in to the new baby.  I can’t even imagine pulling that off at our house!  First off, our house is too small.  And I don’t think I could be that diligent!  A little dirt is ok, right?  I’ve never been germ phobic.  For all my winter babies, including  a preemie, we’ve never had any illnesses in our newborns.  Knock on wood . . .

We’re all going a little stir crazy from being cooped up inside though.  With E and then everyone else being sick, we’ve hardly been anywhere since New Year’s.  I’m not crazy about going out in the cold with the baby, but at least we’re not getting dumped on with snow like so many other places.  We’ve had blue skies this week and I’ve been sending the boys outside to play a lot.  I’m looking forward to getting out more myself.  I’ve been pretty sedentary this entire pregnancy and I need to get moving.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2014 5:53 am

    She is so sweet. I love that the boys argue over whose turn it is to hold her. A clean room would not be possible in my home either. I always asked that anyone who wanted to hold the baby wash their hands first. Pretty simple and easier to manage. By the way I hate all the newborn appointments with the pokes and pricks and undressing the poor babies. It makes my heart hurt.

  2. Tamaran permalink
    February 6, 2014 9:56 am

    She is beautiful!! I love the pictures. And I love that E asked about her parts.

    Brayden asked me how the babies will get out of my belly. It stopped me in my tracks (I expected Taelyn to ask, not Brayden). When I didn’t answer he asked a few more times, then started to get upset. I opted to tell him the truth. He had that look of processing, recognition, and disgust. I laughed so hard about it once he left the room.

  3. February 6, 2014 1:33 pm

    She looks so tiny in the arms of her big brothers. How fun to have a baby in the house but I am sure you are all tired and being cooped up is never fun. Enjoy the time you have with your cute “little missy”. They grow up so quickly!

  4. February 7, 2014 12:03 am

    She’s so perfect! The picture in the red outfit cracks me up. She looks just a little … horrified.

  5. February 7, 2014 7:37 am

    Congratulations! I love the big brother pictures! We have lots of boys around here with one girl as well.

  6. February 7, 2014 8:37 am

    What a tiny little bundle of perfection!

  7. denise permalink
    February 7, 2014 2:46 pm

    wow! she is so sweet and so tiny. Love those big brothers!

Leave a Reply

