Skip to content

TWN*

February 15, 2014

*Typing While Nursing

Quick, finish this blog post before Baby A wakes up!

Too late . . .

Again.

And typing one-handed while nursing is so obnoxious.  I’ve actually gotten back into indexing family history records.  I can stand to peck out names with one hand, but trying to type anything that requires stringing words together into coherent thoughts, while I’m fairly sleep deprived besides, is a ridiculous endeavor.  So much for my new year’s goal to blog more!

Maybe when we’re sleeping more.  Or DH is home.  Actually that’s why I’m sitting here typing this now; DH is home after working 18 of the last 24 hours and is spending time with his little sweetheart, trying to get her to go to sleep while he struggles to stay awake.  If only they could just trade places . . .

Thank goodness Monday is a holiday and he is off work.  It’s actually his birthday today, but after working his usual weekend shifts plus one extra for someone else with only about four hours of sleep in between, he’s wants to celebrate when he can actually enjoy it.

We did surprise him with his favorite salmon for dinner though and cards from the boys.  He said not to buy him anything as giving birth to his daughter counts as the best gift for this birthday and the next several holidays as well.  Which is just fine with me because who’s had time to shop lately?

Speaking of his daughter, I think she has been going through a growth spurt this week.  (3 weeks old?  That sounds about right!)  She’s been eating and eating and eating!  And she’s not the efficient little nurser some of her brothers have been–15 minutes and done.  No, she’s content to keep suckling for a good 45 minutes and loves to snuggle even more besides.  Needless to say, I spend a lot of time sitting here in this recliner with her.  And I’m (mostly) content to do so.  Except when I have things I want to say and can’t type them out easily!

So we take pictures instead.  Yesterday we wanted to get a picture of little A in her red and pink heart outfit for Valentine’s Day.  Here is our sweet Valentine:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We were about ready to settle for our grumpy Valentine.  She was pretty grumpy most of the day, but we finally got her wide awake and in a very mellow mood in the afternoon.  Thank goodness for digital cameras.  It took about 27 shots to come up with a few good ones!

Hopefully I can write some more of my thoughts this weekend when DH is home.  If not, here are a few of the things I’m pondering:

  • Why I want to claw my skin off
  • Why I’m back in the family history research mood  (Hint: Rootstech!)
  • Will we ever find our homeschool groove again?
  • Why is it so sad when babies start to grow out of their teeny tiny clothes???
One Comment leave one →
  1. February 16, 2014 8:04 am

    So so sweet!

Leave a Reply

