Skip to content

Yes, I do yell on occasion

March 11, 2014

I’m having personal space issues.

Honestly, does everybody always have to touch the baby and kiss the baby and poke her and prod her and generally get in her space???  While she’s eating???  Because when you’re getting in her space, you’re getting in my space as well, and I can’t take it any more!!

E, especially, has no sense of personal boundaries.  He’s always right there.  He always wants to kiss her nose.  Really?  While I’m feeding her?  That doesn’t work so well.  But he tries.  He likes to perch on the arm of the recliner right next to me or right behind me.  Having someone right behind me has always bothered me.  I hate it when DH reads over my shoulder.  I already spend literal hours attached to this baby every day and I can only take so much other physical contact.  So I’ll admit it, on Saturday I yelled.

“Everybody stop touching me and stay out of my space!”

(When I was recounting this to some friends at church yesterday, one of them said, “You yelled?  I’m having a hard time picturing that.”  I guess I should be flattered.  Yes, I do yell on occasion.  Less than I used to, so that’s a good thing.)

On the other hand, I absolutely love that these boys completely adore their little sister.  Whenever they come into a room where she is, they make a beeline for her.  She’s like a little magnet, drawing them in. They have to touch her head or stroke her cheek.  As so many have mentioned, she is one well-protected and well-loved little girl!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

E really loves being the big brother.  He has the cutest high-pitched voice for speaking to her and never fails to tell her goodnight and give her a hug and a kiss before bed.  (Although it sounds more like, “Hoodnight, Baby A!”) He exclaims over her “wittle hands” and is delighted when he can get her to grasp one of his fingers in her fist.

“She’s so hute, Mom!”  (hute=cute–so many of his words start with H)

I don’t know if I ever blogged about it, but several months ago when he was starting to notice my growing tummy, I would him if he wanted to feel the baby moving.  At first he was very unsure, but one day he finally said that yes, he did want to feel my tummy.  I put his hand on my stomach and she rewarded him with a kick right in the palm of his hand.  The look on his face was priceless!  I don’t think he had truly realized that there really was a person growing inside of me until that moment.

Last week he informed me that Baby A was no longer in my tummy, now it was just my “big squooshy.”  Needless to say, I’m thrilled to start exercising again and getting rid of that “big squooshy!”

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 12, 2014 8:46 am

    Me too! But less than I used too also! So that is a good thing right? I find I am a little more irritable right now with pregnancy. I so relate to everyone being in my space while I nursed though and still though I do not nurse Zeddie anymore whenever I head to take him to bed everyone comes running to kiss him good night and sometimes I just wish they’d just leave him alone! But they love him soooooooooooo much!

    Baby A is so sweet and already looking a little older!

    Judi 🙂

Leave a Reply

